CollectionDX Network

From Up On Poppy Hill film review by Leonardo Flores

Comments

11 comments posted
Soundtrack

Thanks for posting this review! As a huge Ghibli fan who doesn't reside in Japan, it was nice to hear some thoughts on the film well-before I'll have the chance to see it. I'm happy to hear it sounds like Poppy Hill improves on some of the minor flaws from Goro Miyazaki's debut film.

I'm also thrilled you made a mention of the film's soundtrack. I'm a big admirer of Joe Hisaishi's scores to Miyazaki's films, but I also thoroughly enjoyed Cecile Corbel's work on Arrietty and I look forward to hearing what Satoshi Takebe did with this one. I listened to the music for Arrietty regularly for a year before I saw it, which added an eerie familiarity to an otherwise brand new experience; maybe I'll do the same for this! :)

jontilton's picture
Posted by jontilton on 25 July, 2011 - 15:50
Poppy Hill OST

Thanks Jon!

Yes it is better than Earthsea by far. They showed Earthsea on television the night before and my girlfriend and I both fell a sleep while watching it. Poppy is everything a Ghibli film should be. It was well made and kept us watching, especially at all the high detail of the backgrounds.

Part of what makes a Ghibli film is the music and Poppy's Jazz music OST was fun and had a different type of feel compared to other Ghibli films. After the lackluster music of Earthsea it was well needed and fits the air of optimism that was going on in Japan in the early 1960's perfectly. I wanted to pick the OST up but I saw the film the second to the last day I was in Japan and the OST was 3000yen and I was already out of cash. So I'll wait and pick it up later.

If you can pick up the OST, you will be more than satisfied!

Thanks!

LF

Showapop's picture
Posted by Showapop on 25 July, 2011 - 16:10
Good review. Doesn't give

Good review. Doesn't give much of the film itself away, but provides a clear base for how the film came to be and what makes it successful in your eyes, Mod.

So, this is more of a period piece than the traditional Hayao Miyazaki magical stuff?

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 25 July, 2011 - 16:06
Isao Takahata type film

Thanks Eva!

I had hoped that it is a good film review as one of my college degrees is in Cinema! ^_^

"So, this is more of a period piece than the traditional Hayao Miyazaki magical stuff?"

That is why I feel that it lends to more a Isao Takahata type film as opposed to a Hayao Miyazakitype film as all of Takahata films are period films with sometimes slight but mostly progressive political overtones and usually have an indulgence in Japanese Pop culture.

Only four of Miyazaki's films haven taken place in real time eras (Lupin III, Totoro, Porco Rosso and Ponyo) with the rest taking place in alternate time periods. But even three of those four films have supernatural elements in them.

Cheers!
LF

Showapop's picture
Posted by Showapop on 25 July, 2011 - 16:28
Well, I don't know the "Isao

Well, I don't know the "Isao Takahata" films because I've never seen them.

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 25 July, 2011 - 17:54
Yes he made: Grave of the

Yes he made:

Grave of the Fireflies
Only Yesterday
Pom Pokko
Meet The Yamatas

Cheers!
LF

Showapop's picture
Posted by Showapop on 25 July, 2011 - 18:05
Great to hear that it's along

Great to hear that it's along the same vein as "Whisper of the Heart" and "Only Yesterday" - two absolete gems not only in the Ghibli canon but of any animated film. Let's hope this gets some sort of release or showing here in the United States - even for a potential qualifying Oscar run.

Harvey's picture
Posted by Harvey on 25 July, 2011 - 18:25
Only Yesterday is one of my

Only Yesterday is one of my top favorite Ghibli films, I'm in the process in purchasing all the Japanese Showa pop 45rpm records that were featured in the film.

Those types of films are some of the studios most powerful films!

Thanks!

LF

Showapop's picture
Posted by Showapop on 25 July, 2011 - 18:35
Absolutely Agree

Fine observations Leonardo. I am a Guatemalan living in Japan and have been huge fan of Ghibli for many years (especially Miyazaki Senior). I saw this marsterpiece in theaters and was blown away. I share your views on the sound track and exquisit animation (and like you, fell in love with the scences of Tokyo and Yokohama cities).

I can't wait to watch it again. Whisper is one of my all time favorite animated films, and incredibly I haven't been able to siot through Only Yesterda despite 3 attempts (with my non-otaku girlfriend) but will do it ASAP.

Keep up the great work.

Bobby's picture
Posted by Bobby on 24 August, 2011 - 05:59
Glad you enjoyed the film!

Glad you enjoyed the film! I'm looking forward to picking up the OST as well!

Like Poppy Hill, Only Yesterday has many Japanese 1960's Pop Culture references throughout including references to Group Sounds and Enka. I plan to write up an article on the Japanese Songs of Only Yesterday as I feel people would have a better appreciation of the sub context of the film and it adds a lot of richness to the film.

Cheers!
LF

Showapop's picture
Posted by Showapop on 24 August, 2011 - 11:15
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net