CollectionDX Network

Grimlock

Comments

22 comments posted
4 Grimlocks?

Do you own the Diaclone Dinosaur Robo Pre-Grimlock as well as G2, G1 bootleg & MP-08 Grimlock?

-R78

Rodimus78's picture
Posted by Rodimus78 on 12 January, 2010 - 16:29
No.

Nope. Just the bootleg. Oh, and Animated Grimlock.

Ginrai's picture
Posted by Ginrai on 12 January, 2010 - 19:00
Grimlock

Great review subject!

What I can remember from his file card, Grimlock was actually very smart and his "dumb" speech pattern was actually a vocal chip glitch.

This was actually one of the few transformers I bought as a kid. This toy and character was awesome! My dad bought it for me at Gemco in Pomona and I always admired the release and I actually liked the dinosaur mode more than the robot mode. I like the clear parts throughout as well.

This was just recently put on my list of toys to look out of my collection. I don't know what happen to my original but I still have the weapons.

Thanks for the review, looking forward to buying another.

Leonardo Flores
CollectionDX Staff Writer-West Coast Bureau

Showapop's picture
Posted by Showapop on 12 January, 2010 - 16:31
Eh.

As usual, the cartoon doesn't care what the tech specs card said. There was a whole episode about Grimlock getting an intelligence upgrade. It's not a speech impediment, he's just a moron.

Ginrai's picture
Posted by Ginrai on 12 January, 2010 - 19:01
Characterization

There are three different characterizations to follow: The Marvel Comic, The Sunbow cartoon or the file cards.

Clearly you side with the cartoon.

I'll side with with card:

Strength: 10, Intelligence: 7, Speed: 3, Endurance: 10, Rank: 9, Courage: 10, Firepower: 8, Skill: 10.

You don't even need the clear red thing to read it either!

Cheers!
LF

Leonardo Flores
CollectionDX Staff Writer-West Coast Bureau

Showapop's picture
Posted by Showapop on 12 January, 2010 - 23:46
Comics

Well, you're right that he was smarter in the comics, but he could still be kind of an idiot. I recall a period after Optimus Prime blew himself up where Grimlock was the Autobot leader. He told the Autobots to not bother saving humans and just hung around the spaceship all day. He forced the other Autobots to build him a crown.

The difference is probably that the writer of the comic for a good 50 issues was also the guy who wrote the tech specs whereas the TV show was a whole different group of writers.

Seriously, though, I really love the charm of the dopey monster. The Dinobot Island two parter is one of my favorite Transformers stories. I love the bit where Grimlock is ordering the Dinobots around and his commands are like, "Slag! Do fire stuff!"

Oh Grimlock, you clod.

"That's not more better enough!"

Ginrai's picture
Posted by Ginrai on 13 January, 2010 - 05:18
Diaclone inchman

Those inchman are tough to find for the original Kronoform -Diaclone. I think I only have 4 of them. Did the inchman come with this release of Grim?

Awesome retro commercials! Thanks for adding those links.
Flames actually shooting from the butane gas nozz in the mouth- killer.

Grandzinga....

Grandzinga's picture
Posted by Grandzinga on 12 January, 2010 - 19:08
Diaclone Driver

Nah, this is the actual Transformers version of the toy. I grabbed several pilots over the years from various places. I know I got a set of 5 with my Kronoform Multiforce set but this driver is from a different Diaclone toy. I think it's from the late Diaclone period so it may be more or less correct for the T-Rex, but I'm not sure.

Ginrai's picture
Posted by Ginrai on 12 January, 2010 - 20:16
Correct bodystyle, but the

Correct bodystyle, but the one that came with the Diaclone version had black limbs and a teal body.

ZeldaTheSwordsman's picture
Posted by ZeldaTheSwordsman on 15 August, 2013 - 23:47
Thanks for the review. I

Thanks for the review.

I agree about the odd head placement. Eventually, I wrecked this toy as well, after so many years of play.

What struck me immediately the moment I got him was the (over) abundance of chrome and gold bling bling. That's still
one of those true G1 charms. Thanks for pointing out the driver's section ; i never realised he was a Diaclone once too.

knoted's picture
Posted by knoted on 13 January, 2010 - 04:00
I can't think of a superhero

I can't think of a superhero codename I would want less than "Inchman." :)

This toy is IMO one of the alltime best. Even if you didn't care about the Transformers show or comics (allthough I do like both) you would have to admit how awesome a robot T-Rex that turns into a robot dude is.

I have to say though,if I was Japanese and I bought this toy,I'd be a little disapointed that he didn't spit fire like in the commercial! Don't they have truth-in-advertising laws there?!?

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 13 January, 2010 - 10:27
I just picked up a Grimlock

I just picked up a Grimlock for the first time in the mother of all Craigslist finds. He is in great shape, and needed only a quick super glue repair to the joint that holds the dino head on in robot mode. Once I get some reprolabels, this will be one of the highlights of my collection! Love the Dinobots and Grimlock was the best of them. Nice review!

djinniman37's picture
Posted by djinniman37 on 13 January, 2010 - 11:39
Sweet

Nice score! Glad you liked the review. If you get a chance, snag a driver for your Grimlock!

Ginrai's picture
Posted by Ginrai on 13 January, 2010 - 21:09
Regarding the head placement...

Incidentally, anyone around here have the Justitoys "WST Dinorobots"? They're miniature versions of the Dinobots (unlicensed), but with all the diecast, clear, and chrome bits the originals had. They actually added a new joint so that the robot head can slide forward a bit (and actually turn, I think). Of course, you have to move it back and straighten it out to transform back into dino mode, but I think the addition is fantastic!

kidnicky, have you seen the other classic Takara ads??? Oh man, they're nuts! There are a bunch on the TBDX channel and probably all over the place on Youtube. Yeah, truth in advertising? Forget about it! ;)

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 13 January, 2010 - 11:56
Takara SF Land

I have the Takara SF Land book that came with a Video CD of all the old Takara Henshin Cyborg, Microman, and Diaclone commercials so I have a big fat wad of them. Delicious stop motion fun.

Ginrai's picture
Posted by Ginrai on 13 January, 2010 - 21:10
LUCKY!!

Oh man...that Takara SF Land is hot! SUCH a critical resource for HC/Microman/Diaclone fans. Consider me jealous, man! I really need to get me a damn copy...but every time I see one on Y!J, it's for over $100... :(

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 14 January, 2010 - 09:48
Oh yeah,I've seen a bunch of

Oh yeah,I've seen a bunch of them. They're all that strange mix of tongue-in-cheek-funny and legitimately awesome that only Japan knows how to harness.

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 13 January, 2010 - 23:16
I should've known

I should've known that you got a TBDX channel on YouTube.
I'm gonna add this to my bookmark right this minute.

-R78

Rodimus78's picture
Posted by Rodimus78 on 14 January, 2010 - 00:17
Wow! What nostalgia!

This was my first TF toy together with a G1 Insecticon Shrapnel! I was a 4th grader then and I took care of them for 15 or 16 years, only to have them dismembered by my nephew and niece.

I'm still keeping the parts though (or whatever were left of them) somewhere at my folk's place.

Thanks! This brought a lot of good memories!

Cyclone Blue

"No Gnu Is Good Gnu Like Gary Gnu!"

Cyclone Blue's picture
Posted by Cyclone Blue on 17 January, 2010 - 08:10
Robo Torture

Glad you liked the review! How did you relatives break your toys? Did they just smash them or something? I woulda been pissed!

Ginrai's picture
Posted by Ginrai on 19 January, 2010 - 15:40
law of gravity + 16-something yr old toy + hands of a toddler

My folks somehow got their hands on them and gave them to my 10 month old niece and 9 month old nephew as if they havent had enough toddler toys to play with. Imagine a 16-something year old toy left in the hands of a toddler.

Then about 3 years ago, I got wounded up even more when I saw on a toy-store's website where I used to purchase online, they're reselling some original G1 issues of Grimlock and other Dinobots and Insecticons (slightly played; box & all still intact) for $2500 each!

Cyclone Blue

"No Gnu Is Good Gnu Like Gary Gnu!"

Cyclone Blue's picture
Posted by Cyclone Blue on 23 January, 2010 - 06:28
Grimlock's most vulnerable

Grimlock's most vulnerable parts are the T-Rex arms and his neck (Because, well, clear ABS being brittle)

ZeldaTheSwordsman's picture
Posted by ZeldaTheSwordsman on 15 August, 2013 - 23:54
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net