CollectionDX Network

Treadmaster

Comments

14 comments posted
Did you....

...happen to bid and win this on Jan 1, 2012? Was this the auction, http://www.ebay.com/itm/260922128800 ?

Cause its got the same crease in your review and its also got the dual French / English which is only on Canadian packaging.

If it is I'm glad it went to a good home, and if it wasn't you then I'd blast you for not reviewing it earlier .... I also saw that in one of your pics of last years summit and emailed you guys about it. Didn't get a reply.

I just checked ebay and was like NOOOO, cause someone put up one in Jan and there was also a Rotary Commander. For the treadmaster I did a double take cause the box in this review and the auction box have an identical crease on the upper right hand corner on the dual language banner.

Great review I'm hunting for Tonics now.... d@mn you CDX ... lol....=D

blade-edge's picture
Posted by blade-edge on 5 February, 2012 - 02:51
Yea, I won both sets. the

Yea, I won both sets. the Rotary Commander set is too incomplete to review though. Sorry I never saw your email!

JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 5 February, 2012 - 09:02
Interesting toy. As a kid,

Interesting toy. As a kid, I'd surely love to have one of these, but I was born some years after the release haha

When I was a kid, I remember having a toy of a robot crocodile that was very similar to this toy. Many of the pieces and the pilots were identical to the ones present in this set. It was probably a knockoff and the original toy was probably related to this line. I remember that the box showed three sets: a green crocodille, an orange/brown gorilla and a white gryphon (well, it was a four-footed animal with wings). Too bad I donated it not long ago...

Thanks for the review!

LuizSSB's picture
Posted by LuizSSB on 5 February, 2012 - 09:15
Tomics for the Real-Type(sort of real?)

I enjoy the reviews of the building kits, as they are sooooo tempting to pick more up, but can't justify the space now to own and build. Nice pics! I'm exhausted just looking at them all.

These Tomics are the kind of thing that will pop up more at a toy/train show, or flea market, than ebay, but, as you say, not as often found as the Robotix, or Capsela, or Erector sets. I'll keep an eye out as usual. ;0)

These definitely have more cool factor than some of the competition. Much to drool over in the toys aisles as a kid. They were expensive at first though.

repairtechjon's picture
Posted by repairtechjon on 5 February, 2012 - 10:34
This looks like it would be

This looks like it would be worth it if only for the plesiosaur mode. That's awesome.

Jmann's picture
Posted by Jmann on 5 February, 2012 - 12:46
Is that Twiki?

Is that Twiki (from the old TV show Buck Rogers) in the "head" of the toy?

I love hearing about these "unknown" and forgotten about toy lines. Just when I thought I had heard about everything robot toy related, you guys pull another rabbit out of your hat. Keep it up!

BraveMSW's picture
Posted by BraveMSW on 5 February, 2012 - 21:46
This is one very cool toy

This is one very cool toy line, wow!

north-exit's picture
Posted by north-exit on 5 February, 2012 - 20:03
Tomics

So this what's it's called... I have the Rotary Commander and doesn't know the name until you mention it. Thank s a lot Josh. I'm very tempted to do the review, now.

Berserk's picture
Posted by Berserk on 5 February, 2012 - 20:13
That is a cool toy

Thanks.

Televex's picture
Posted by Televex on 5 February, 2012 - 22:43
These were heavily knocked

These were heavily knocked off by a Hong Kong company to make the very diverse series of "MultiMac" toys that you can usually find cheap on eBay. I have an incomplete SciTex 'copter, and a couple of pounds of random MultiMac parts acquired from a couple of cheap eBay lots and a boxed pair of sets unopened.

I have some builds I put together from those lots (not even using close to half the parts...) here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/microbry/sets/72157625328845058/ It's fully interchangeable with the original Tomy stuff (among other things).

Bizarrely, MultiMac includes both the Zoids-type pilot modules along with larger scale modules with figures that look loosely derived from M.A.N.T.A. Force. Some sets only include one type or the other. The cockpit parts tooled for the larger figures appear to be original (or knocked of yet another more obscure series...).

microbry's picture
Posted by microbry on 6 February, 2012 - 02:30
MICROBRY NICE FLICKR PICS....

... but one question what is the base that you have in all the pics, its a really nice sci-fi design?
By base I mean where all the mulitimac/zoid/starriors are standing on.

blade-edge's picture
Posted by blade-edge on 7 February, 2012 - 04:28
Thanks! It is in fact part

Thanks! It is in fact part of this monstrosity, what is in my opinion one of the most amazing toys I've ever owned: http://www.yojoe.com/vehicles/87/defiant/

I use the launch gantry for many of my toy pics as it makes a great universal display backdrop in either horizontal or upright position. The shuttle and space station are fun to shoot in occasionaly too!

microbry's picture
Posted by microbry on 11 February, 2012 - 20:56
Oh no, look what I started...

All it took was one random (albeit obscure toy) I put on display at the summit (if you weren't there, see the 2011 Summit Wrap-Up page for a shot of my Rotary Commander in the video of my display stand, yes that one) and off you go starting on ANOTHER toyline LOL...I'm not going to be held responsible for any repercussions, but at least you picked a small toyline go after.

Also I think there were a few more smaller powered or non-powered units that were available, they might be shown on other boxes or some magazine ads. Don't hold me to that though, after I purchased my Rotary Commander set a few years ago, I inventoried it and did a little research on Scitex and pretty much shelved it. Man Josh, the first time I actually cracked it open again recently was with you at the Summit.

Mr. Ginrai's picture
Posted by Mr. Ginrai on 8 February, 2012 - 16:40
Digging up the old post

So what's the value on this set?

Chefeagles's picture
Posted by Chefeagles on 15 December, 2016 - 18:25
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net