CollectionDX Network

Mechagodzilla '74

Comments

14 comments posted
It's very nice!

It's very nice!

TimF's picture
Posted by TimF on 12 March, 2010 - 16:29
I love Mechagodzilla too!

Josh, I love it when you review old toys. Actually, I love it when anybody reviews old toys on here. I have always had a soft spot for Mechagodzilla and I am planning on picking up the 83 version of this toy at G-Fest here in Chicago (July 9th through the 11th at the Rosemont Hotel in Rosemont, IL near O'Hare airport if anyone is interested. I believe it is the only Godzilla related convention in the United States and it is awesome).

Thank you Josh, and thank you to everyone else who reviews vintage toys. That is why I love this site.

Jeromy's picture
Posted by Jeromy on 12 March, 2010 - 16:32
W L V I, it's party of

W. L. V. I., it's pa-art of livin', livin' fifty six!

Txos's picture
Posted by Txos on 12 March, 2010 - 17:16
What channel used to use

What channel used to use Robert Palmer's (?) "The Heat is On" for their commercial jingle? This would have been like between 85 and 88 I think. It's been in my head all these years. The song was changed so they'd be like "the heat is on channel !"

---------------------------------------------
A master of mind control who hides inside a Ford Pickup

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 13 March, 2010 - 15:34
I remember that too! Could

I remember that too! Could it have been 38?

Txos's picture
Posted by Txos on 13 March, 2010 - 19:15
I think maybe it was. Can't

I think maybe it was. Can't find it on youtube,though.

---------------------------------------------
A master of mind control who hides inside a Ford Pickup

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 14 March, 2010 - 11:11
I remember that!

I remember that! Unfortunately, I don't remember the channel. I think Glenn Frey sang that song, but I could be mistaken.

-Dan
CollectionDX LLC
Vice President/Co-Owner

Shogundan's picture
Posted by Shogundan on 14 March, 2010 - 14:36
I think it was 38 - i

I think it was 38 - i distinctly remember it being used for a bruins promo?

------------------------------
CollectionDX Admin

JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 14 March, 2010 - 15:50
Correct sir

Yes... Glenn Lewis Frey- Awesome by the way!

Grandzinga....

Grandzinga's picture
Posted by Grandzinga on 16 March, 2010 - 13:24
I absolutely love this

I absolutely love this design, I own one vinyl and 2 chogokin (newer designs) but Id own all MGs if I could. I used to always watch Japanese monster flicks on sundays and loved Godzilla, then the first time I saw Mechagodzilla I was like "what? a robot version of the already great Godzilla!" The older style Mechagodzilla is definetely my favorite.

Although its not a complicated toy, I am glad he has his own review

chachipower's picture
Posted by chachipower on 12 March, 2010 - 18:20
This one really speaks to my

This one really speaks to my childhood too. I own Godzilla vs. MechaGodzilla on VHS and good Lord, I watched it again and again. Great to see this up here.

Mechaninja's picture
Posted by Mechaninja on 12 March, 2010 - 18:54
You an Sanjeev's

review that makes me buy more Godzilla...

Berserk's picture
Posted by Berserk on 12 March, 2010 - 21:21
I love MechaGodzilla! I

I love MechaGodzilla! I think this vinyl is killer and I am not a vinyl collector. I have the chogokin version. Not to high-jack the thread but, I really wish they would do a gokin version of MechaGodzilla's brethren MechaKong. MechaKong it the sh*t!

-Dan
CollectionDX LLC
Vice President/Co-Owner

Shogundan's picture
Posted by Shogundan on 12 March, 2010 - 22:38
I think they can't do the

I think they can't do the Mechanikong because he's a version of King Kong,who Toho does not own and cannot give the rights to. That's what I remember hearing,at least.

---------------------------------------------
A master of mind control who hides inside a Ford Pickup

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 13 March, 2010 - 15:31
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net