CollectionDX Network

Kado Senshi RGM-79 GM

Comments

15 comments posted
I spy some unreleased 7.5"

I spy some unreleased 7.5" Bandai of America RX-178 Gundam Mk-II figures in the background!

netkid's picture
Posted by netkid on 23 March, 2015 - 12:01
Arch Enemy, so sweet

Yeah, I scored those Arch Enemy figures a few years ago. Never been opened and I'm not planning to, since I haven't seen any before or since, except in that one ToyFare article from back before the line was cancelled.

Optimal III's picture
Posted by Optimal III on 23 March, 2015 - 12:28
Duuuuuuuuuuuude...

Duuuuuuuuuuuude... why are we not getting a huge elaborate pictorial review of these guys, with 1000 photos of whatever can be seen through the packaging, haha.

recognizer's picture
Posted by recognizer on 25 March, 2015 - 19:11
So tempting

I don't think that would cut it, Everyone wants to see them out and about. It's really hard not to open them up, but I'm just unsure of how rare these really are. Again, I'd never seen them in person before I found these, and I haven't seen any since. I'm not saying they're my "get rich quick" scheme, but who knows. Maybe some day someone will make me an offer I can't refuse.

Plus, I'd feel kind of weird having them just for me when they aren't really available to anyone else. I know that probably sounds strange, but I almost feel like they should be in a Gundam/toy museum or something. Assuming again that they are rare. For all we know, Bandai might have a bunch of them stashed in a vault somewhere just because.

Optimal III's picture
Posted by Optimal III on 26 March, 2015 - 09:58
Er...

...why do the Gundam Mk. IIs have "G-Gundam" branding?

F-ZeroOne's picture
Posted by F-ZeroOne on 23 March, 2015 - 14:45
These weren't supposed to happen

My guess? A few of each Mk. II, possibly prototypes, were actually manufactured before the word came down that the line was cancelled, but also before the proper packaging was made. So someone decided to chuck them onto leftover G-Gundam deluxe bubble cards and send them out anyways. These were actually found at a Toys'R US.

Optimal III's picture
Posted by Optimal III on 23 March, 2015 - 15:45
I think the easiest

I think the easiest explanation on why they are in G-Gundam packaging is that is what was airing on Cartoon Network at the time. Those figures were released in two different lines, the first was "Gundam Arch Enemy" which is pretty self-explanatory; the figures were RX-78, Char's Gellgoog, Wing Zero, Tallgeese III, Aile Strike (but I don't think the Aile Strike's "enemy" counterpart was released.) The Arch Enemy series came out in 2002, G-Gundam started airing on CN in the middle of 2002 and that's when the 7.5 line was repackaged with the G-Gundam label and several G-Fighters were released. I think Bandai was also trying to get Zeta Gundam on the air at the time since the first Gundam series aired in 2001 and Zeta followed chronologically (the RX-178 is from that series.) If I had to guess, since the RX-178 is in both AEUG (good guys) and Titans (bad guys) colors, it was going to be released in the Arch Enemy line but when G-Gundam got the go-ahead, it was shoehorned into that line instead.

They weren't super-rare at the time, you could walk into any Toys-R-Us and find them, I got both Char's Gelgoog and the Damaged version of Shining Gundam on clearance at TRU, and getting stuff on clearance there is a pretty rare event. However, they're pretty expensive on the secondary market now, packaged figures sell on average between $80-$100, because they're high quality figures, fit a pretty specific niche and are fairly rare now.

Heavyarms's picture
Posted by Heavyarms on 30 March, 2015 - 09:20
I wonder if there's a booklet

I wonder if there's a booklet or something in there for them. Toy catalog? Instructions? Something unique than just the figures.

FUN FACT: If you want to see the cancelled Gundam toys, messing deeply into the internet wayback machine on www.Gundamofficial.com can net you all the images. They've got good stuff like a 4.5" battle-scarred wing gundam, 4.5" battle-scarred master gundam, and a new 4.5" Gundam Mk. 3 figure in all it's yogurty-colored goodness. Yes, we were going to get a figure of this in America: http://gundam.wikia.com/wiki/MSF-007_Gundam_Mk-III

netkid's picture
Posted by netkid on 23 March, 2015 - 17:59
Good question

Without opening them, I can make out some of the accessories: two beam sabers, one beam rifle, one hyper bazooka, one shield, one gun pod. Not sure if they've got alternate hands. If there's any paperwork, it's probably between the bottom of the bubble and tray. But I wouldn't be surprised if they just came with instructions for the G-Fighters depicted on the cards.

Optimal III's picture
Posted by Optimal III on 24 March, 2015 - 10:04
That is really cool! I

That is really cool! I wouldn't mind tracking that down to add to the 'ol GM collection (which I didn't originally mean to turn into a full collection, honestly). Like you; I love that it looks like it jumped right off the animation (thin legs and everything). Best part are the hands! They usually make them a little small in most releases (save for models) but these, once again, are nicely sized and match the old animation model.

As for MSiA: You really gotta try the 2.0 version, at some point! Blows the first version out of the water (though it doesn't match this one in the looks department).

Alexx's picture
Posted by Alexx on 24 March, 2015 - 06:58
2.0?

That's the second time you've brought that up I think. I will look into it. It's the one that comes with the Space Launch, right?

Optimal III's picture
Posted by Optimal III on 24 March, 2015 - 10:09
Yes, that's the one! Here's

Yes, that's the one! Here's a photo of 'em next to a HumAble Model figure:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v140/Alexx1083/0%20Gundam%200/GMsizeup.png

It's from a review I did on the HumAble Models, if you're interested in those.

http://toysandtomfoolery.blogspot.com/2014/07/humable-models-for-humable-man.html

They're not models, even though it's in the name. Just VERY articulated figures.

Alexx's picture
Posted by Alexx on 25 March, 2015 - 22:41
Banpresto

Great review and very cool. And points for actually having some good Banpresto toys that came out of a machine. In my experience, they're very hit or miss, and I've always had the misses.

Optimal III's picture
Posted by Optimal III on 26 March, 2015 - 10:00
Thanks! I honestly haven't

Thanks! I honestly haven't run into a bad Banpresto item yet. Perhaps it's just because I have so little from them; it's a small sample size to judge from. So far those HumAble models and their SCM EX lines are both pretty dang cool.

Alexx's picture
Posted by Alexx on 27 March, 2015 - 09:40
Thanks for the info on the Mk. IIs...

...I used to see these GMs, and their Gundam and Zaku equivalents, a lot a few years ago in Japan. I hadn't realised they were this nice. At the time, I had *read* more about Gundam than *seen* it, so though I loved the universe my knowledge of the actual series, especially the first, was a bit lacking otherwise I'd have picked one up because GMs need our love. Also, to be less explodely.

F-ZeroOne's picture
Posted by F-ZeroOne on 24 March, 2015 - 15:21
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net