CollectionDX Network

King Exkaiser

Comments

10 comments posted
I'm not familiar with this

I'm not familiar with this series, but somehow I get a 'Rodimus Prime' feeling from him.

knoted's picture
Posted by knoted on 8 January, 2010 - 18:06
mp exkaiser

I bought the MP Exkaise/Exkizer back when it came out. I always had problems with chipping paint due to Exkaiser's uber tight fit in King Roader. It's a really nice fig regardless. Though I think he makes a better display piece than a toy.

servbot30's picture
Posted by servbot30 on 8 January, 2010 - 20:49
paint

yeah masterpiece exkaisers chipping is bad particularly the nose of king exkaisers lion chest the blue paint on little exkaiser (it just rubs off on mine) and the black lines on the side of mini exkaiser from fitting it into king exkaiser which I only attempted once due to the fact that the left leg won't lock in properly on mine

Rodimus1138's picture
Posted by Rodimus1138 on 21 May, 2010 - 02:32
What's up with the

What's up with the multi-colored windshield on the reissue? That always bothered me.

One problem that the DX Brave leader toys have in general is that they are often based on early designs. If you get your hands on Kunio Okawara's Brave Design Works, you'll see a bunch of early character designs for King Exkaiser that looks a lot more like the toy than the design that was actually used in the TV show.

It's also possible that Kunio Okawara was retrofitting an existing Takara design, since development for Exkaiser toys started before there was a Brave series, at which point they were planned to be part of Transformers. If that were the case, there's not much he could have done about the odd proportions.

What's really striking to me is how bad-ass the Dinogeist toy is compared to DX King Exkaiser. Dinogeist blows me away with his aesthetic, proportions, cool weaponry. King Exkaiser looks like he was made in a different decade compared to Dinogeist.

That said, I still like King Exkaiser for his Rodimus Prime vibe and his being the first Brave leader toy. He reminds me a lot more of a late 1980's Transformer than subsequent Brave toys do.

Oh, and I made the fansub that those Youtube clips are from! :D

JeffStein's picture
Posted by JeffStein on 9 January, 2010 - 21:42
The multicoloured windshield

The multicoloured windshield is wierd isnt it? I like the Masterpiece but I think the blockiness of the original King Roader looks more like a vehicle but the aesthetics of the robot modes for Exkaiser, King Exkaiser and even Great Exkaiser just blows away the original. Only thing that really makes one consider the original is probably the size.

Roanstalker's picture
Posted by Roanstalker on 12 January, 2010 - 12:22
The car mode is Rodimus, but

The car mode is Rodimus, but the trailer is pure Star Convoy, which would make sense, as that's much closer to being its contemporary. I like the look of the car mode guy, but like most Brave toys, the combined huge guy bot mode's lack of really any features just kills it for me.

http://prometheusrising.wordpress.com

Prometheum5's picture
Posted by Prometheum5 on 13 January, 2010 - 11:09
I totally agree with you

I totally agree with you Ben. That's why I encourage people to get the Masterpiece version. I feel it's combined mode is quite impressive

-Dan
CollectionDX LLC
Vice President/Co-Owner

Shogundan's picture
Posted by Shogundan on 13 January, 2010 - 11:28
Is there a good review of

Is there a good review of the Masterpiece somewhere?

http://prometheusrising.wordpress.com

Prometheum5's picture
Posted by Prometheum5 on 13 January, 2010 - 19:24
I did a mini review of the

I did a mini review of the two Masterpiece Braves here:

http://www.toyark.com/brave-eldoran-thread-932-page2/#post4145

Roanstalker's picture
Posted by Roanstalker on 17 January, 2010 - 20:53
Old School Bricky Goodness!

I have a theory; Takara probably used the same plastic they used for the original back in 1990, to perhaps appease the older fans of the show, I guess they could have used stronger plastic if they think it wouldn't be a big deal? Again only a theory. If Exkaiser is a brick, then Great Exkaiser, combined with the original Dragon Kaiser must be a super brick! :D But a nice looking super brick it should be. Overall this looks like a great G1 Transformers-esque toy and it's great that Takara are doing re-issues. Yeah, I think Rodimus Prime must have inspired this character. :D Superb review. :)

DurelKing31584's picture
Posted by DurelKing31584 on 12 October, 2011 - 16:38
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net