CollectionDX Network

Convoy (Optimus Prime)

Comments

10 comments posted
LONG OVERDUE

Other than Powermaster Optimus Prime, I'm very surprised no one did a review on the original G1 Optimus Prime a loooooooooong time ago. Reissue or otherwise. I don't even think there's a G2 (non-laser rod, non-spychanger, non combat hero) Optimus Prime review on here either. That silver creation matrix is the perfect accessory.

Scarfang_The_Slayer's picture
Posted by Scarfang_The_Slayer on 21 January, 2015 - 11:24
Surprising indeed

Yeah, I was surprised too when I started looking to see what all had been reviewed. The matrix is cool, but I'm not sure if I prefer this silver one or the gold one that comes with the Galvatron reissue.

Optimal III's picture
Posted by Optimal III on 22 January, 2015 - 10:59
Do you think both of the

Do you think both of the matrixes are the same mold like the G1 Megaton gun and Dr. Archeville accessories that came with the various Masterpieces?

Scarfang_The_Slayer's picture
Posted by Scarfang_The_Slayer on 24 January, 2015 - 00:10
Mish-Mash Of A Few Different Versions

Wow, this review was confusing the hell out of me for much of it. I wish you'd been clear up front at the start of the review that it was a mish-mash of different versions rather than saving that tidbit as an afterthought almost at the end of the review. You introduced it as the one from Takara's Transformers Collections line, and then started showing a figure with blue tinted windows and blue eyes, and I was like, "What the hell?" Far as I knew, the only one like that was New Years Convoy, but that's not what you said it was! Until at the very end... suddenly, you revealed that that WAS what it was, with some accessories and the packaging of a different version.

Maybe this isn't a big deal to people who don't know their Optimus Primes / Convoys... but as someone who does, it seemed very disconcerting not having that stated up front.

Yotsuyasan's picture
Posted by Yotsuyasan on 24 January, 2015 - 16:09
Same mold, good point

@ Scarfang, yes, I think it's the same mold as the gold matrix that comes with the Galvatron reissue, this silver one being the original.

@ Yotsuyasan, good point and my apologies. That was something I thought about going into the review. But I couldn't think of a better way at the time to present it since I only have the one mish-mashed set. It's tempting to write to and assume most readers are familiar with a subject, but I try to write under the opposite assumption that most readers maybe aren't so familiar. Seems better for the sake of not skipping details. But I'll keep that in mind going forward. Good news is that this is the only toy I've got to blab about where this sort of thing is the case.

Optimal III's picture
Posted by Optimal III on 29 January, 2015 - 14:43
I just thought of something.

I just thought of something. I'm trying to grow my G1 collection and I never realized I could track down one release of a figure and then track down all the parts and accessories of a different release of the same figure as long as the colours match up. Thanks to that little tidbit in your review, my hopes of building complete G1 figures (okay, maybe just certain ones) has just skyrocketed! Nothing wrong with that as long as nothing comes from a bootleg, right?

Scarfang_The_Slayer's picture
Posted by Scarfang_The_Slayer on 31 January, 2015 - 15:08
That'll do

Yeah, that can totally work. And yes, I'd also stay away from KOs.

Optimal III's picture
Posted by Optimal III on 31 January, 2015 - 15:26
Why? The only KO of the

Why? The only KO of the original G1 Optimus that even properly looks like him is the one from the line of high-grade counterfeits. Those are cheaper misb than the real deal, for equal quality (or better in the case of Mirage - the blue plastic on the real Mirage has turned very brittle with age) plus the gimmicks aren't neutered.

As for the cheaper knockoffs, they can suck pretty bad for durability (the bootleg RID Rollbar pretty much has GPS -speaking from experience on that one), but the weapons and combiner kibble tend to be fine. You may have to do the superglue/nail polish trick for a tight fit, or else have the opposite problem and need to use a nail file, but it's much cheaper than the legit parts tend to run.

ZeldaTheSwordsman's picture
Posted by ZeldaTheSwordsman on 29 April, 2015 - 15:37
Variant, not resculpt

The bloated version of the rifle is a variant going back to the Diaclone days, not a resculpt. The longer peg is a change though, but it would have made more sense for Takara to REMOVE THE DECORATIVE HANDLE AND REPLACE IT WITH A PEG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Lengthening the original peg and giving the fists an extended grip cup lets him hold it better, but he's still gripping it by the ammo casing rather than where he should be holding it.

ZeldaTheSwordsman's picture
Posted by ZeldaTheSwordsman on 29 April, 2015 - 15:25
Ahhh

Now that you point it out, I see what you mean. That would make more sense, but as long as it's been, I doubt they'll ever adjust the design for the G1 toy to that extent, no matter how many more times they reissue him.

Optimal III's picture
Posted by Optimal III on 13 October, 2015 - 14:56
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net