CollectionDX Network

Movie Masterpiece Series Iron Man 2 Whiplash

Comments

26 comments posted
Here's my question: for all

Here's my question: for all his advanced range-attack weps (see: the first movie), what made Iron Man think he NEEDED to close to melee range and constantly get in range of Whiplash's whips!? Stark wasn't that drunk at the time, as I recall...
Two words: "BOOM! headshot".

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 30 November, 2010 - 23:18
You know, a lot of people

You know, a lot of people brought this up when they saw the designs... or when they see 40k Space Marines without the helmets, or myriad other examples. Truth is, I don't have a perfect answer to the old 'sniper' issue. Having super villains duke it out with the heroes mano a mano just makes it more fun. The way the fight unfolds in the film, though, Stark doesn't really get a chance to put any distance between himself and Whiplash before Vanko disables his repulsors. People always ask why the police didn't just shoot him either... I suppose if you wanted a 'real' answer, maybe Vanko was anticipating the fact that the police would be hesitant to blow a guy's head off on live national television?

Prometheum5's picture
Posted by Prometheum5 on 30 November, 2010 - 23:54
Ooh- I'm playing "Dawn of War

Ooh- I'm playing "Dawn of War (I)" right now. Old news, but awesome RTS, I tell ya!

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 1 December, 2010 - 03:52
Offtopic?

Hands down, the most off-topic comment I have seen around here in a while...

Atom's picture
Posted by Atom on 1 December, 2010 - 18:10
Hey, he brought up W40k

Hey, he brought up W40k first, not me. Besides, it was relating to how superior-armored characters would turn around and intentionally expose parts of themselves just to look cool[er].

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 1 December, 2010 - 19:08
This was exactly my question

This was exactly my question when I saw that iron man was fighting a whip guy. How could he be any threat to a man in a suit with flight and ranged weaponry? Unfortunately the movie has no better answer than, "Because Iron Man fights like an idiot." He fails to use any of the suit's capabilities. It's one small symptom of the fact that Iron Man 2 is all about fancy special effects but bereft of any intelligent or creative screen writing.

jacksauce's picture
Posted by jacksauce on 1 December, 2010 - 00:21
I have to disagree with every

I have to disagree with every aspect of this statement... the car fight scene was specifically designed to make Whiplash a threat by forcing Iron Man to fight at close range (one would assume this was Whiplash's plan, as developed by the screen writers). Stark's first goal is to get the suit on and get Happy and Pepper out of danger. He has no time to strategize or gain some distance from Whiplash, he's running on straight adrenaline to save his friends, and Whiplash makes sure to take out the suitcase armor's limited ranged weaponry right away, forcing Stark to fight on Vanko's terms. It's almost like the writers knew exactly how to make this fight make sense ;)

Prometheum5's picture
Posted by Prometheum5 on 1 December, 2010 - 00:37
Thanks for sparing me the

Thanks for sparing me the trouble of explaining this scene's well thought out fight, very well put.

north-exit's picture
Posted by north-exit on 1 December, 2010 - 00:55
So you're telling me all that

So you're telling me all that he had available to him was two repulsors in his hands and that's it? Surely the Mk.IV had more in it than that (although, obviously, space is limited in a suit that collapses down into a friggin' suitcase)? I thought he had flight capability; and even if he didn't, he has legs!

Umm... how did Whiplash even survive to fight Iron Man at all when he got crushed by an SUV is what I wanna know.

Speaking of which, has anyone here ever heard of a series of videos on YouTube called "How It Should Have Ended"? They have some real zingers in there, I tell ya.

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 1 December, 2010 - 03:50
The harness took the brunt of

The harness took the brunt of the SUV impact, and it's not like they were going that fast ;)

Prometheum5's picture
Posted by Prometheum5 on 1 December, 2010 - 11:21
it wasn't a suv

it was a rolls royce phantom

exia00astraea's picture
Posted by exia00astraea on 2 December, 2010 - 03:23
Nitpick: The suitcase is the

Nitpick: The suitcase is the mark V

irregularcog's picture
Posted by irregularcog on 1 December, 2010 - 17:26
Ugh, KNEW I'd get that

Ugh, KNEW I'd get that wrong... >.<;

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 3 December, 2010 - 22:15
Great films-great toys!

Good thing HOT TOYS got the rights to the Iron Man films... I'd hate to see what Medicom would've produced.

north-exit's picture
Posted by north-exit on 1 December, 2010 - 01:13
Whiplash

I like that shot you made on the 24th picture you've posted. Whiplash looks so real in the fight scene just like in the movies. I wouldn't mind adding him to my collection. Mickey Rourke was very enjoyable as Whiplash in the sequel. I only wish that he added on his Crimson Dynamo suit to his harness. Did the filmmakers omit the Crimson Dynamo armor idea for Rourke to wear because of budget constraints I wonder or was it something else?

Diakron's picture
Posted by Diakron on 1 December, 2010 - 02:23
Whipash did don an armor...

By the end of the movie he's wearing one of the Hammer battle bots. Its not Crimson , but its still an armor. Call him the Silver Dynamo instead.

Awesome review. The face is Mickey Rourke all the way. I can't wait to see what they do with Thor and Captain America. Those I'm sure I'll be picking up. Oh and Red Skull is must for this line.

overcracker's picture
Posted by overcracker on 2 December, 2010 - 11:53
Each time I see a review for

Each time I see a review for a new Hot Toys figure, I'm blown away. Then I ask myself if I should let this release roll on by. Well I usually decide I want it, but alas the wallet says nay since its used for other vices of mine. I guess for now now I'm stuck with a naked black man figure as my only Hot Toys in possession. This review was great and the pictures of the face detail really show how realistic the sculpt is. That metal frame on the back blew me away. Simply awesome.

chachipower's picture
Posted by chachipower on 1 December, 2010 - 10:27
Thanks, chachi, I had a great

Thanks, chachi, I had a great time reviewing this guy, and was thrilled to be able to add him to my shelf. I hear you on the idea of actually buying them, though... I have payed for most of my Hot Toys figures, and they are always worth it, but it's still a big commitment to actually buy. If I hadn't gotten Whiplash for review, I would have still purchased it myself, because after seeing the early photos and already owning the similar Iron Man MkI, was sold.

PS- You should head over to a place like Toy Anxiety that sells 1/6 parts and assemble a custom costume for your HT body! Do something creative with it... I've pieced together a couple of in-progress customs from them, and they are awesome. It IS basically playing dress up with a doll, though. ;)

Prometheum5's picture
Posted by Prometheum5 on 1 December, 2010 - 11:14
QC

Sad to hear that despite all the price increases and promises Hot Toys has been pulling over the last 2-3 years, there's *still* issues with stuff out of the box... Kind of insulting to me that they still get away with that, and no one really mentions it anymore. For me that type of thing is ridiculous, and completely avoidable. This is why a lot of 1/6 people are buying these things in open boxes instead of MISB as you don't know if anything is broken until it's been opened...

However their Customer Service is still *hands down* THE best out there, even better with US/EU customers than Bandai is, which says a lot. Problem? Broken joint? Sloppy paint? One email to Hot Toys and within 7 days, anywhere in the world, your new part is in your hands.

They go way above and beyond what's needed every time. My Aliens Warrior had a broken leg right out of the box... within 4 days, I had a new leg in my hands. An Iron Man MKIII suit I was given as a gift had a pretty bad scratch, and after sending a few pictures and answering a few questions, I was given a Fed Ex account number for return shipping so I wouldn't have to pay for it to be sent back, and a tracking number for *a complete, new figure* which was at my house in 6 days. No receipts or hoops to jump through. They even replaced a broken Aliens headset (it was broken in the box, mind you) for a Colonial Marine figure 5 years after it came out, free of charge! A lot of toy companies need to pay attention to this and follow suit.

Nice to here Angolz will help too, always had great experience buying from them.

The Big R's picture
Posted by The Big R on 1 December, 2010 - 10:47
I dunno... I feel like the

I dunno... I feel like the incredible customer service makes up for any QC problems that slip through. Sure it's disappointing to get a figure with a problem, but if you know it was definitely be corrected, than it's not quite as bad. I think the quality of the end result is what really matters, and that is always impeccable.

Prometheum5's picture
Posted by Prometheum5 on 1 December, 2010 - 11:19
More Iron Man Reviews?

Prometheum5, is Hot Toys making the Iron Man Mark V(SC) in the near future? If so, will you be reviewing it exclusively for CDX?

Diakron's picture
Posted by Diakron on 1 December, 2010 - 14:20
I have not seen anything

I have not seen anything about a Suitcase suit yet, but Hot Toys is releasing a Mk IV and Mk VI, as well as War Machine, and I will cover all of them. WM is already shipping to me from BBTS, so that will get reviewed over Christmas break.

Prometheum5's picture
Posted by Prometheum5 on 1 December, 2010 - 15:58
I guess...

I don't know about that...

Maybe because you got this for free your opinion is a little different than it would be if you paid for this and had the same issues.

after 5+ years of buying these from Hot Toys, it's not a "slip-through" type of thing. if these were $5 Star Wars figures from Target then it would not be a big deal; however, these are pretty darn expensive and in some cases very difficult to even obtain.

It's kind of like a great five-star restaurant that keeps messing up your take-out orders. The food is great, but there's always something wrong. After a while, you get a little sick of that.

While they are quick to fix issues like these, I will say, while they fixed scratches and broken limbs out of the box no problem, they won't do anything for you if the clothing/outfit comes apart- especially if you're the type that throws away boxes (hinthint) - so watch out. and save those boxes...

I've posted about this many, many times: I am kind of sick of having to fix stuff on toys out of the box. It's not expecting too much to expect to get what you paid for the 1st time.

The Big R's picture
Posted by The Big R on 2 December, 2010 - 14:00
Of the 6 pieces

Of the 6 pieces we have reviewed (5 technically, 1 is in the que) this is the first time we have had any sort of issue with a Hot Toys piece and they took care of it immediately. So I'm not really sure what " Hot Toys has been pulling over the last 2-3 years."

Atom's picture
Posted by Atom on 1 December, 2010 - 18:07
Exactly. I have seen the

Exactly. I have seen the very rare breakage issue on 1/6 forums, but those are usually from mishandling. Everything else I have gotten from them has been flawless.

Prometheum5's picture
Posted by Prometheum5 on 1 December, 2010 - 18:37
Hot toys figures are awesome!

I currently own 5 Hot Toys figures, haven't had a single 'QC' problem with any of them.

north-exit's picture
Posted by north-exit on 2 December, 2010 - 23:24
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net