CollectionDX Network

Nekosaur Crystal Sofubi

Comments

23 comments posted
Great review Josh, I'm glad

Great review Josh, I'm glad you threw in those little objective bits at the end. Grasping hands would have been quite cool, as the Neko-USB has them, and the art for that package features weapons.

I'm a little surprised though, yours really does not look that clear in the photos... is it a result of the lighting? Mine, this guy look like cut glass in person... the clarity really is amazing. I know I'm looking forward to the first painted releases, but I think this one may remain my favorite.

http://prometheusrising.wordpress.com

Prometheum5's picture
Posted by Prometheum5 on 5 February, 2010 - 10:51
Ben, it's definitely just

Ben, it's definitely just the lighting. Josh's photo setup has lights above and on either side of the toy, but because he's standing on that display base, there's nothing from behind or below. So, a lot of light will reflect off of the glassy surface into the camera. Meanwhile, there won't be any light from behind or below to transmit through, like you see in most pics (like this sweet shot from Roger Harkavy).

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 5 February, 2010 - 14:36
Really, it serves me right.

Really, it serves me right. About 4 hours after teasing Josh, I went to take my own Neko photos and realized that it is a paaaaaain to take good shots of clear things.

http://prometheusrising.wordpress.com

Prometheum5's picture
Posted by Prometheum5 on 5 February, 2010 - 23:35
You forgot to point out the

You forgot to point out the Terminator face in the waist. Also, my name is on the header card! Yay! lol.

"You can't sell it until you get it from him, but you gotta sell it to pay him to get it to sell it".
---Jerilock, talking about me trying to raise the money I need to pay for the toys I already bought....

NekroDave's picture
Posted by NekroDave on 5 February, 2010 - 11:35
the design of this embodies

the design of this embodies everything I love about classic robots, simple effective design. It doesn't shoot fists but it still can attract lovers of those types of bots. Another thing, first time I saw this I assumed it was hard clear plastic... but its vinyl?! wow that's clear. This may be my first official vinyl purchase. Will this start me on the road to brokeness? I hear vinyl is addictive...

chachipower's picture
Posted by chachipower on 5 February, 2010 - 15:02
I like the nekosaur's basic

I like the nekosaur's basic design, and visible parts beneath a clear shell is lovely. I'm opposed the the heart, though. It's a cliched conceit of many modern designers to stick hearts on robots, and it turns my stomach. If you're going to have a heart on a robot, go the full Lisa Frank mile and cover it in rainbows and rhinestones. Robots win our adoration by the charm of their design, not by the tacking-on of trite symbols.

jacksauce's picture
Posted by jacksauce on 5 February, 2010 - 18:18
Not a Robocon fan I take it?

Not a Robocon fan I take it?

SpaceRunaway's picture
Posted by SpaceRunaway on 5 February, 2010 - 19:21
Actually, I adore robocon

Actually, I adore robocon and desperately want to watch it.

jacksauce's picture
Posted by jacksauce on 6 February, 2010 - 10:08
I am not going to get into

I am not going to get into a design debate since everyone's design sensabilty is different, But I don't feel anything about Alen's design process is "trite" or the design is lacking. It just means you have subjective views of certain iconography.

joshua fraser's picture
Posted by joshua fraser on 5 February, 2010 - 21:37
I don't feel his design is

I don't feel his design is lacking. I just don't like the heart, and hope that in the future he'll make even better toys. Ones without hearts.

I'm sorry, I can't do this. Even if I wanted to argue, I couldn't. Not with a man who is holding a jumbo daiku maryu.

jacksauce's picture
Posted by jacksauce on 6 February, 2010 - 10:13
Unlike probably a lot of the

Unlike probably a lot of the people here,I have no idea who this Yen guy is,so I'm totally unbiased. What's the matter with having a heart inside the robot as a funny easter egg? Lighten up,toys are supposed to be fun.

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 5 February, 2010 - 22:27
You may notice that there's

You may notice that there's a hatch in front of the heart. If the toy was designed with an opening hatch, it would reveal the heart a la Robocon. Alen will probably fess up to it if you asked him but I'm pretty sure that's where that idea came from.

Check out the chogokin version of Nekosaur on Incubot's site. That heart is going to be a weapon.

Roger's picture
Posted by Roger on 6 February, 2010 - 18:02
Mighty Atom was the original

Mighty Atom was the original "panel-in-the-stomach-opens-to-reveal-a-heart" robot, I think.

TimF's picture
Posted by TimF on 6 February, 2010 - 21:54
Hey Kidnicky, You never went

Hey Kidnicky,
You never went to ToyboxDx? I mean you come here and RobotJapan. Huh. If you ever have, as Josh pointed out in the review Alen created the Toybox site. ;-)

joshua fraser's picture
Posted by joshua fraser on 6 February, 2010 - 00:01
I think I've been on Toybox

I think I've been on Toybox DX once or twice.
Anyway,my point was just that I'm not sticking up for the design because I'm friends with the designer,I'm sticking up for it because it's cool.

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 6 February, 2010 - 08:19
Nice but...

I like it but will save the cash to hopefully put toward his DIECAST release. I think he might also be planning for it to fire fists etc.! Please Alen?

Grandzinga....

Grandzinga's picture
Posted by Grandzinga on 6 February, 2010 - 10:33
Buy this vinyl (and a USB

Buy this vinyl (and a USB figure) and you'll make the possibility of the diecast being produced more likely.

Roger's picture
Posted by Roger on 6 February, 2010 - 18:04
Yes but...

I agree with the theory, but I will wait for the Dead Pres. colorways or a G.I.D. edition.
I've seen the box art for the chogokin. Looks GREAT!

Grandzinga....

Grandzinga's picture
Posted by Grandzinga on 6 February, 2010 - 19:06
Speaking of a gid

Speaking of a gid edition...mwahahaha! ;)

Nah, I hear jacksauce about the heart thing. Can't please everyone, and that's okay. But here's the beauty of this toy: when you buy it, it comes with the uncut insert! You can just scan it, change it however you like, color-print it, and go to town! In fact, I think Alen's looking to post the template online so that people have full freedom to go nuts with this thing.

Anyway, like all sofubi these days, there'll be plenty more colorways coming in the future! Stick around.

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 6 February, 2010 - 21:17
That is totally awesome.

That is totally awesome.

jacksauce's picture
Posted by jacksauce on 7 February, 2010 - 17:56
You know what would be

You know what would be awesome? Printing out either a photo or say a carciture of Nakajama (is that his name?) the Godzilla suit actor with his bandanna around his head and sweat dripping all over. You know,like instead of seeing what's fictionally in one of these guys,seeing what's -really- in there.

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 6 February, 2010 - 22:11
Y'know, I think I'm gonna go

Y'know, I think I'm gonna go ahead and nominate that for the greatest idea in the history of vinyl kaiju. Bravo!

"You can't sell it until you get it from him, but you gotta sell it to pay him to get it to sell it".
---Jerilock, talking about me trying to raise the money I need to pay for the toys I already bought....

NekroDave's picture
Posted by NekroDave on 6 February, 2010 - 22:18
INCUBOT PRODUCTIONS - Nekosaur Crystal Sofubi

Nice review, Josh.

Thanks for sharing.

grendizer1975's picture
Posted by grendizer1975 on 10 September, 2010 - 03:42
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net