CollectionDX Network

Big Dai X

Comments

11 comments posted
Prescient

This show could clearly look into the future of giant robots, because "Bongo Hercules" would probably be the best Jaeger name ever. Guillermo del Toro, take note.

Corduroy Bear's picture
Posted by Corduroy Bear on 18 October, 2014 - 07:46
Send chogokin legions to save our souls...!

"Star Fleet" may well have been the show that started my love for giant robots. It was of a time with "Battle of the Planets" and "Thunderbirds 2086", so I can't say exactly where my love for what I later found out was anime came from, but only this show had a giant red Makara-stompin' machine. I would have killed for "Star Fleet" toys when I was eight; finding out much later that they had actually *existed* (via the Takatoku toys "X-Bomber" line)...

...well, now I have some. Including the tricycling Big Dai-X... :-)

I haven't had the issues the reviewer did (other than the noted slightly sloppy appearance quality), but then I haven't tried to convert mine to the vehicle modes, something I was put off very much from doing from my initial impressions of handling it.

F-ZeroOne's picture
Posted by F-ZeroOne on 18 October, 2014 - 09:15
What is your opinion of it

What is your opinion of it F-ZeroOne?

Mark M's picture
Posted by Mark M on 22 October, 2014 - 10:30
Aw, that suck this toys has

Aw, that suck this toys has issues because overall it looks like a pretty awesome design vaguely reminiscent of Ideon.

VZMK2's picture
Posted by VZMK2 on 18 October, 2014 - 09:16
Nice to know I'm not the only

Nice to know I'm not the only one to draw the Ideon connection.

That sounds like another movie trying to cash in on the success of The French Connection, like how Bruce Lee's "Fist of Fury" was originally released in the USA as "The Chinese Connection".

But anyway, I share the reviewer's disappointment even though I wasn't actually planning on getting one. Any representation of obscure Nagai pantheon gets my interest, but the sloppy QC on this thing is such a turnoff.

Oh well, at least God Mazinger doesn't combine.

Tetsuryu's picture
Posted by Tetsuryu on 18 October, 2014 - 13:46
Ideon and X-Bomber aired the

Ideon and X-Bomber aired the same year so I doubt there's any real connection.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 18 October, 2014 - 14:08
I believe we were referring

I believe we were referring to the similarity, especially the colour scheme. Three vehicles combining into one robot is nothing new.

Tetsuryu's picture
Posted by Tetsuryu on 20 October, 2014 - 10:36
I think the only real

I think the only real connection they probably have is that they both date from that awkward early 80s time when they still weren't entirely sure whether mecha shows were going to still go the "giant robot super-wrestlers" style of "Mazinger Z" or the "gritty, isn't-war-terrible we-need-more-replacement-parts-oh-no-the-delivery-officers-copped-it!" style of "Gundam" and you tended to wind up with an odd mixture of mecha designs trying to have it both ways.

F-ZeroOne's picture
Posted by F-ZeroOne on 18 October, 2014 - 15:23
The crew of X-Bomber sure had

The crew of X-Bomber sure had a hell of a time with fixing their ship but perhaps that's mostly because there were only a half dozen of them on this giant space bird :3

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 18 October, 2014 - 15:45
As a fan of starfleet growing

As a fan of starfleet growing up; I'm massively disappointed with this effort. I hope Bandai throw their hat into the ring and upscale the figure. The design is iconic.

Wankor's picture
Posted by Wankor on 18 October, 2014 - 17:02
Disappointing

Very disappointing piece. It looks nice enough at a glance and it is awesome that a new Dai X has been released but it really is not a piece I would as much as I love Star Fleet X Bomber. For the price I would expect this to be much larger with better features.
If anything maybe this will inspire Bandai or another company to finally do Big Dai X justice.

Mark M's picture
Posted by Mark M on 22 October, 2014 - 10:28
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net