CollectionDX Network

EX Aquarius Camus

Comments

8 comments posted
Still far too much silver in

Still far too much silver in this figure. Will they never get an accurate color scheme?

So they have already started yet another revamp of the Gold Cloths: Recent images from Japan show that Virgo and Aries along with Leo will have God Cloth toys.

RobertG22's picture
Posted by RobertG22 on 2 April, 2015 - 13:53
I saw them and I am not a big

I saw them and I am not a big fan of the designs. They are way too busy, even for God Cloths. They remind me of the Cloths in Episode G, which were very ornate for no real reason.

SentaiSeiya's picture
Posted by SentaiSeiya on 3 April, 2015 - 16:31
Reading this review is good

Reading this review is good and sad at the same time. Good because we finally got all the EX line reviewed, but sad because there won't be nice reviews for any Saint Seiya brand-new toy for a while (or maybe forever, since it's reasonable to suppose you'll give a break, 'cause they're not cheap toys). However, for you, there is no reason to feel sad, you got a pretty damn good beautiful kick-assing complete collection! Congratulations, boy! I would feel I beat the game of life if I were in your shoes.

Camus looked pretty damn perfect in most pictures seen on internet before the release. Fortunately (or unfortunately) we can read your review to see it's not so perfect. When I saw your pictures, the first thing I remembered was his problematic shoulders from the 1987 release. Yeah, his shoulders problems are that old, so there's a big chance it's standard, not a problem of only your figure. It's disappointing since it was the main thing I would like they had fixed. At least it seems his shoulder pieces do manage to get straight right sometimes, while the old 1987 ones could never do it (your only hope was raising his arms in order to raise his shoulders as well).

This is the best real pic of the old Camus I managed to find:
http://mlb-s2-p.mlstatic.com/9675-MLB20019033490_122013-O.jpg

His shoulders must be almost falling down. They were really like that. The object mode, however, was more perfect than that. It could really stay as it was on the package.

At last, I think a smirking face is really strange in this release, 'cause it makes Camus look like a bad guy. It's an expression which fit perfectly an evil mad character like Deathmask. Even when I was a child, I couldn't feel any evil in Camus... don't know if there's someone who really thinks he's evil. It's not a mistake, however, it would be nice if they included a lot of diverse expressions for all the figures, but they don't usually include more than the standard ones from the anime, so it's strange because of that.

And hey, having his top piece of hair removed makes it look like the old Camus is becoming bald! Poor Camus

Strawberry Dream's picture
Posted by Strawberry Dream on 3 April, 2015 - 00:21
It's very perceptive of you

It's very perceptive of you to have picked up the fact that I may be taking a break from the Saint Cloth Myth line. I am going to pick up the Surplice Aquarius and Capricorn because I need to have all 6 "Athena Exclamation" Saints represented in the EX . Beyond that, I am on the fence about the rest of the line. While the Gold Saints definitely needed updated toys, the Sea Generals benefited immensely from being later releases. So I don't feel as compelled to buy those 8 figures all over again( assuming they skip Mermaid Thetis). We will see how things go from here. I am thinking about dipping my toes into the third party Saint Seiya pool, just to see how that compares to the stuff Bandai puts out.

It is weird that they have the smirking face for Aquarius. It has to be there to represent how he is sometimes seen as an evil Saint. I don't really remember if he ever shows that expression in the anime tough.

I was not aware that the 80s Camus had an issue with the shoulder pads also. it is pretty ironic seeing as how THE definitive version of Aqurius Camus has the same problem as the toy that is almost 30 years old.

SentaiSeiya's picture
Posted by SentaiSeiya on 3 April, 2015 - 16:44
Yeah, to be honest, I don't

Yeah, to be honest, I don't really think they will release EX versions of Marine Generals, at least for a while.

As I've seen in a part of that recent documentary about the making of Saint Seiya Cloth Myth toys (is there any subtitles for the whole documentary yet?), producing them is pretty expensive even for Bandai. Their last figures still look pretty beautiful, including V3 and V1 Bronze Cloths and other later Cloth Myth releases. Maybe they know there isn't much more to improve other than updating their height, so I don't think they will risk to re-make them just to take a loss, since fans may not be willing to buy another not-so-different version of the same characters.

It's just my opinion. Maybe it's not so risky, since a lot of fans may want the chance to buy those characters for the first time at cost price. Well, if they will ever be re-releasing all the figures (including the EX ones), I really wonder how they could improve them even more.

Strawberry Dream's picture
Posted by Strawberry Dream on 4 April, 2015 - 05:20
A bunch of sites already have

A bunch of sites already have the EX Sea Dragon Kanon up for pre-order. Judging from the fact that he is sold out on many of the Japanese toy sites, it looks like fans are willing to re-buy him, even though the original looked pretty darn good.

Do you have a link to the video? I would love to check it out.

SentaiSeiya's picture
Posted by SentaiSeiya on 4 April, 2015 - 12:48
Here you are

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yHigfZt-7FA

I don't know if that's the whole video or just some kind of trailer. People said that documentary would be released, so I've assumed it was not the whole video. Maybe I was wrong

Strawberry Dream's picture
Posted by Strawberry Dream on 4 April, 2015 - 15:52
Thanks!

Thanks!

SentaiSeiya's picture
Posted by SentaiSeiya on 4 April, 2015 - 18:23
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net