CollectionDX Network

Unite Warriors Superion

Comments

8 comments posted
Tax vs Haz

I'm so glad I pre-ordered the Takara version of Superion. For one, I didn't feel like dealing with all the hassle of getting an appropriate Slingshot, what with Hasbro's "online exclusive" mess. And the Takara deco looks so much better. I'm glad the rest of the combiners didn't turn out this well (Menasor!!) because I'd have spent a lot of money on the rest of the combiners. re: Sky Dive, I think he's supposed to resemble an F-18 more than an Su-27, since the vertical stabilizers are mounted over the engines instead of to the side. The way I look at it, Fireflight and Slingshot resemble an F-4 and Harrier, sharing design elements of both. Sky Dive looks like an F-18/F-16 hybrid, and Air Raid is more of an F-15/F-14 hybrid. That way they can have some visual cues from the original toys, but be different enough to avoid licensing issues. I was disappointed that Fireflight didn't look more like an F-4 (my favorite fighter jet of all time), but after getting this set in hand, I ran right out and bought a Hasbro Fireflight so I could fiddle around with him without making Superion go armless.

Heavyarms's picture
Posted by Heavyarms on 3 August, 2015 - 16:20
Great Review!

Loved the review! I'd been looking forward to it since watching the videos a week or two ago.

I recently wrote a review of this set myself on my own website. (And my review includes a set of third party hands & feet, for the curious.)

A few brief comments:

The "Sky Lynx" pic was cute.

"Strangely, the Combiner Wars release has finer detail with airplane accurate unpainted white struts for the canopy frame, while the Unite Warriors version goes for all orange like in the 'toon."

Ah, but the struts on that all orange canopy are a different shade of orange. (Much like his eyes are a different shade of orange when compared to the rest of his face.)

Re: Fireflight's comparison to the Hasbro version.

Although it is still obvious from the photo, in your text description you missed a pretty important difference! The Hasbro version's wings are only white for the piece of the wing that folds up for transformation, where as the Takara version has the rest of the wing painted white to match, giving his jet mode a much better look.

Yotsuyasan's picture
Posted by Yotsuyasan on 4 August, 2015 - 11:12
Oh, I did notice the orange

Oh, I did notice the orange canopy frame on Sling, but it didn't register to me for some reason. Thank you for the corrections.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 4 August, 2015 - 17:10
Hmmmm....

Hmmmm...I was on the cusp of getting this Superion set till I saw your review. The Unite Warriors version is solid, and definitely shines next to Hasbro's take. But I've already enhanced my set with stickers from Reprolabels. It costs $48.50 for all 7 figures, but the end result is worth it. The difference between Takara's Superion and my stickered one isn't that drastic now, so I think I'm going to pass. But that works out.

The saved money will go into stickers for my Hasbro Stunticons and UW Defensor/Guardian, who's a "can't miss" unless Hasbro surprises us with another online exclusive.

Optimal III's picture
Posted by Optimal III on 4 August, 2015 - 11:43
Re: Hmmmm....

I suppose it depends what you're going for... The Hasbro version (with Quickslinger), especially once Reprolabels are added, would be the set that is closer to a G1 toy look. But there is no beating Takara's set for a G1 'toon look.

In any case, if you're happy with what you have, that is the most important thing! I love my Takara version, you love your Reprolabeled Hasbro version, and it is all good!

Yotsuyasan's picture
Posted by Yotsuyasan on 4 August, 2015 - 11:59
Plus Upgrades

Great review, I like the differences in Takara's Silverbolt compared to Hasbro's, but I wished they released them independently for those of us who suffer from Domestic Toy Release Stockholm Syndrome who would rather have ONE of the many.

I have the complete Hasbro Superion (from Alpha Bravo, Powerglide, to Slingshot) but I also bought the Perfect Effects hands and feet set too. I have to say they really make a difference in the look of the finished Gestalt compared to the stubbed toe look. Defensor especially.

Rob's picture
Posted by Rob on 4 August, 2015 - 12:54
I could have stood LESS toon detail

Seeing as several details of the cartoon's design (as with Bruticus though not near as bad) came about from the artist's being either half-assed or having bad photos (like the mouthless head), I'm actually fairly annoyed at this. Some toon changes are good, like Mixmaster's purple drum (which breaks up the severe color monotony the Transformers toy suffers). But with the Scramble City combiners, the changes were incompetence on the part of the model sheet artists or on the part of the people supplying their references. The Aerialbots' heads are all wonky compared to the toys' sculpts, the Combaticons aside from the heads only BARELY resemble the toys, the Stunticons have random head designs... Thanks for validating incompetence, CW toy designers! Thanks heaps!

ZeldaTheSwordsman's picture
Posted by ZeldaTheSwordsman on 15 August, 2015 - 12:33
Rubber Biscuits

One minor issue: Silverbolt's airplane nose is actually all rubber. There's just paint on the UW version that is not on the CW. (In fact, both UW and CW versions of the Aerialbots have the same amount of soft rubber parts; the UW just adds paint to match the hard-plastic color, whereas CW generally just leaves them plain rubber.)

RobotBastard's picture
Posted by RobotBastard on 23 October, 2015 - 00:45
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net