CollectionDX Network

Bulldozer

Comments

15 comments posted
Who would hate this design?

Who would hate this design? Is it because they don't like the constructicons from the cartoons or comic books?

Germanicus's picture
Posted by Germanicus on 3 February, 2016 - 05:02
Design criticism.

Personally, I don't particularly like Toyworld's take on the Constructicons. They, and a lot of other third party Constructicons, tend to oversimplify the vehicle mode into just a box on wheels/treads in a way that is at odds with the gobs of surface detail they sculpt on the figure. It's especially egregious on the Toyworld version, because they based their Devastator design on the Studio OX version, which was already nicely detailed. Honestly, I feel like the current official toys for the team has done a much better of job of marrying realistic vehicle modes with cartoon accurate robot modes (save for Long Haul).

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 3 February, 2016 - 06:53
Some excellent points but

Some excellent points but these bots scale better with MPs and the final Devastator is bonkers in terms of size and articulation.

TattooedRobot's picture
Posted by TattooedRobot on 4 February, 2016 - 21:30
Parts forming

Is most peoples complaint. The design itself is very divisive though. There are people that love the clear purple parts, and people that hate it, there are people that love the detail, and people that hate it.

Transformers have been around for so long, and there have been so many different versions of each character, that you're never going to get consensus on what design style looks good.

Ender10000's picture
Posted by Ender10000 on 3 February, 2016 - 12:03
True. I guess I'm looking at

True. I guess I'm looking at it more of a technological standpoint that it's quite an achievement both technically and aesthetically. I love the designs of the individual robots so far and the way they look and the poses you can do. Nothing will ever be perfect. As far as comparing it to the constructicons of old I look at it as TFs reimagined in a great way...a new and refreshing point of view.

Germanicus's picture
Posted by Germanicus on 4 February, 2016 - 15:13
I agree completely.

I agree completely.

Ender10000's picture
Posted by Ender10000 on 4 February, 2016 - 17:14
So do the forearms connect? I

So do the forearms connect? I thought I saw the forearms connect back to back with the drills on either end?

TattooedRobot's picture
Posted by TattooedRobot on 4 February, 2016 - 21:26
Hrm

I like the figure and its vehicle and arm modes, but that head just looks awful to me. Everything above the nose looks strangely-proportioned. I can't tell whether that's sculpting or a trick of the lighting.

Ah, well. Tastes vary. I'm really enjoying these reviews. Is that a ToyWorld or Hasbro Constructicon in your second comparison picture?

Jetman Purple's picture
Posted by Jetman Purple on 5 February, 2016 - 12:10
The Constructicon in the

The Constructicon in the second pic would be Generation Toys version of Scapper.

Ender10000's picture
Posted by Ender10000 on 8 February, 2016 - 04:03
Man I love the engineering,

Man I love the engineering, but I prefer gt's idw look. I wanna get both of them though. You're getting both? I saw you reviewed the gt scrapper and mixmaster.

Kmopotato's picture
Posted by Kmopotato on 6 February, 2016 - 05:00
I am getting both, yeah.

I am getting both, yeah. Devasator and the Constructicons have been my favorite characters since I was kid. I figure if I get both, I won't have to pick between combined and team mode. I honestly think I like versions about the same. I guess I like generation toys alt modes better and Toyworlds robot modes better so far.

Ender10000's picture
Posted by Ender10000 on 8 February, 2016 - 04:05
Damn, I wish I could get

Damn, I wish I could get both. Looking forward to your final combined reviews, since it seems you're the only person on the internet covering them in detail.

Kmopotato's picture
Posted by Kmopotato on 8 February, 2016 - 06:10
(double take)

I love your photo backgrounds, but I have to ask - armadillo skull why?

Corduroy Bear's picture
Posted by Corduroy Bear on 8 February, 2016 - 08:42
Because the raccoon skull was

Because the raccoon skull was too big ;)

Ender10000's picture
Posted by Ender10000 on 8 February, 2016 - 14:18
A+

That is a fantastic answer. Thank you.

Corduroy Bear's picture
Posted by Corduroy Bear on 9 February, 2016 - 11:02
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net