CollectionDX Network

Herr Fiend

Comments

23 comments posted
I have two of these the

I have two of these the silver Porsche 930 and a yellow beetle. They are both pretty beat up but they were some of my favorite toys as a kid.

Anavel's picture
Posted by Anavel on 22 October, 2009 - 19:54
Royalty

Baron von Joy and Bug Bite. Also really nice toys!

Ginrai's picture
Posted by Ginrai on 23 October, 2009 - 13:11
Just as the Transformers

Just as the Transformers have been reissued, I wish that the original Machine Robo (especially the DXs) would be reissued as well. I know that they're still available on the e-bay market and not expensive as old TFs but I still rather have a nice brand new release.

VZMK2's picture
Posted by VZMK2 on 22 October, 2009 - 21:07
Cool toy, but it always

Cool toy, but it always bothered me that it had a cockpit for a head.

-Dan
CollectionDX LLC
Vice President/Co-Owner

Shogundan's picture
Posted by Shogundan on 22 October, 2009 - 21:11
I had a Psycho when I was a

I had a Psycho when I was a kid, but always found the head one of it's more appealing features. I don't really know why. Maybe it's got a more old school robot (and I'm talking 50s era when I say old school here) look. Like something you would send to pick up rock samples rather than into battle. Of course, that is too lame to compete with it's car mode!

Great stuff!

"This must be settled the way nature intended....with a vicious, bloody fight!"
Onyx Blackman
Principal, Flatpoint High

NekroDave's picture
Posted by NekroDave on 23 October, 2009 - 12:42
Cockpit

I love the cockpit for a head thing. It gives it this really mechanical, utilitarian feel that is just not there in GoBots outside of the Super GoBots.

Ginrai's picture
Posted by Ginrai on 23 October, 2009 - 13:12
Wow, this is really cool.

Wow, this is really cool. There is something very appealing about porsche's that transform into robots. Nice review.

north-exit's picture
Posted by north-exit on 22 October, 2009 - 23:05
Nice review! I had (and

Nice review! I had (and still have) a bunch of the smaller GoBots. But for some reason I never saw the DX's when they were new. When I discovered Ebay, Psycho was one of my first purchases. And even though he was loose and a bit beat-up, I totally dug his funky robot mode (bizarre cockpit and all!). ^_^

japester's picture
Posted by japester on 22 October, 2009 - 23:17
Gobot reevaluation Continues

Nice review! I'm in the process of cutting a deal with a friend here at work that has a few of these larger DX figures and a bunch of Gobots. He has the space car that is so cool and I'm looking forward to buying the lot. Funny when I was a kid I thought that Transformers were better but as an adult these have a lot of charm and I see myself collecting many of these early GoBots. I always thought this character was kinda creepy, I'm glad I'm not the only one!

I always loved how the thighs folded down! lol

Looking forward to more reviews!!!
LF

Leonardo Flores
CollectionDX Staff Writer-West Coast Bureau

Showapop's picture
Posted by Showapop on 23 October, 2009 - 10:19
Space Car

The space car is Psycho, originally the Psychoroid vehicle from the anime/manga Space Adventure Cobra. Definitely one of the nicest GoBots, but I will get to that review later!

Ginrai's picture
Posted by Ginrai on 23 October, 2009 - 13:13
Way underrated

I alwas felt GoBots were way underrated. Take Puzzler or Mounsterous for example. They were gestalts that had no peripheral pecies, tons of die-cast, and had more than 5 characters. Way better than any Transformer combiner.

Kenny G's picture
Posted by Kenny G on 23 October, 2009 - 15:46
Combine!

I agree. Both of those combiners are really nice. Expect a review of Puzzler from me fairly soon.

Ginrai's picture
Posted by Ginrai on 23 October, 2009 - 17:55
one of the nicest of the GoBots

It's pretty bad when the insane german scientist is "one of the nicest of the GoBots."

The other GoBots must be horrifying.

TimF's picture
Posted by TimF on 23 October, 2009 - 16:48
Nice as in...

Well, when I said its one of the nicest toys I mean the TOY is the nicest, not the character. The character is a bloodthirsty vivisectionist, but the toy is sexy diecast metal!

Ginrai's picture
Posted by Ginrai on 23 October, 2009 - 17:55
Super Gobots rule

Yes they do. Very satisfying to look at , and transform. Thanks for keeping on doing these reviews.

I've been able to pick up most of the Super Gobots over the years when cruising flea markets ,and antique malls. Always an easy deal. Great vehicle modes, on most.

As to the head, it alway's intrigued me as kid, seeing those drivers in there. Something about little included pilots, similar to Zoids, Robostrux, Starriors, Wheeled Warriors, etc. All had 'em, and was a big draw to the toy.

repairtechjon's picture
Posted by repairtechjon on 23 October, 2009 - 23:07
On the show (which

On the show (which unfortunately is in VERY low quality on youtube) this guy wears a monicle,which is both awesome and stupid at the same time.

Count me in as one of the people who doesn't understand where the mentality came from that GoBots were cheap toys and TFs were more durable. Certainly the later all-plastic TFs were fine,but the original Autobots? Don't get me wrong,I like the show and everything,and as an adult I like having the Autobot cars displayed on my shelf,but they are WAY too fragile to be good toys. Meanwhile I had a bunch of GoBots when I was only like 4,and I definately did not handle them with kid gloves,yet they held up to hours of play.

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 23 October, 2009 - 23:13
Playground Battle: Gobots VS Transformers

Here's what I think: Gobots had a terrible cartoon that killed the integrity of the line as well having transformations that were not as complex. As a kid those two factors seemed to be the most important end all be all factors in a great robot toy back in the 8T's. Today I have different criteria. That's why its great to see machine robo finally get its due!

Any other thoughts anyone?

Leonardo Flores
CollectionDX Staff Writer-West Coast Bureau

Showapop's picture
Posted by Showapop on 24 October, 2009 - 01:26
Advice

Here's what I think: Gobots had a terrible cartoon that killed the integrity of the line as well having transformations that were not as complex. As a kid those two factors seemed to be the most important end all be all factors in a great robot toy back in the 8T's. Today I have different criteria. That's why its great to see machine robo finally get its due!

Any other thoughts anyone?

Sir...take my advice: Don't pursue this pointless, crusade for it's ressurection b/c Machine Robo should remain 'discredited' & 'obscure'. For the sake of it's identity, it must never be popularized here.

After what happened to the TF franchise, it will fall into to wrong hands, for Hasbro has the rights to Gobots when they purchased Tonka. You'll give them the idea of bringing them back to the pop market w/ a stupid live-action movie, Bandai will have their lawyers knocking on Hasbro's corp. door, they'll be legal drama... It will only be an embarrassing disaster.

in the end, you'll be cheated
in the end, you'll be betrayed
in the end, you'll be smeared
in the end, you'll be branded
in the end, you'll be bitter
in the end, you'll be vain
in the end, you'll be BROKE!

....just like real Macross fans ...just like real Japanese/US TF fans...

real fans like Ginrai
real fans like you
real fans like me.

-r78

Rodimus78's picture
Posted by Rodimus78 on 24 October, 2009 - 04:12
How Poetic!

How Poetic! lol

Leonardo Flores
CollectionDX Staff Writer-West Coast Bureau

Showapop's picture
Posted by Showapop on 24 October, 2009 - 09:54
The man's got a

The man's got a point.

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 27 October, 2009 - 13:09
There are some strange

There are some strange people on the internet.

Leonardo,the more intricate transformations may have appealed to me then,but as an adult I really prefer the simplistic ones. I can't keep track of how to transform all these different robots!

I need to ebay myself some Gobots. RoadRanger espescially. I know we all had that guy,and to be honest I have more nolstalgia for him then I do a certain Autobot he "slightly" resembles!

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 24 October, 2009 - 09:52
Ah, another unfortunate

Ah, another unfortunate robot with guns for arms. Cursed to always fire upon those he loves...

Alexx's picture
Posted by Alexx on 24 October, 2009 - 10:34
He Has No Face

Found this guy at a flea market. His mid section is a little loose, but other that that I love it. I was surprised at how heavy he was due to the die-cast metal content. Car mode looks really good, robot mode is very interesting. At first I thought his arms were too small, but then I got over it. Oh, nobody laugh but this was the very first (REAL) Gobot/Machine Robo figure I've ever owned so of course I've got to show the line some love.

Scarfang_The_Slayer's picture
Posted by Scarfang_The_Slayer on 29 July, 2014 - 15:23
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net