CollectionDX Network

Iron Man (Mk.III)

Comments

11 comments posted
Wow, that is impressive!

Wow, that is impressive! Very clean and sharp details (Stark's head is amazingly-well carved & painted), and not lacking for features either.

Is there any torso articulation other than side-to-side in the neck?

. . .

I got to see "Iron Man" in theaters(!), and I thought it was a good movie too. Even though I've never read the comics, I too balked a little at Stark's character- I couldn't sympathize with him much and came away with a feeling of, "How can this guy be a super hero when he's so self-centered & arrogant [even after he escaped]?".

Is "Iron Man" the first real powered-armor in American cinema?
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 11 November, 2009 - 14:16
Glad to see this review up,

Glad to see this review up, and worth the wait Atom! The fore-arm micro missile launchers make much more sense now... I did not realize the actual missile ALSO folds out from the launcher structure. Very cool and yet, somehow I still don't have one of these. I'd like the Battle Damaged one... the pics make it look like that one will be fully painted. I think that's the one thing that's been holding me back: the MkII versions and the Damaged one look fully painted and much more vibrant than the color on this guy did.

Prometheum5's picture
Posted by Prometheum5 on 11 November, 2009 - 14:33
Iron Man (Mk.III)

Right now Hot Toys is among my most favourite toy manufacturers. Although I do not own this Iron Man version, I have bought Robocop and ED-209 from 'Robocop' and Batman from 'Batman Begins' and Batman (New Costume) from'The Dark Knight'. Needless to say both figures are astonishing. I love Hot Toys sooooo much. If you still do not have it, get yourself a copy of their mouthwatering catalogue. It's really worth it.

You can also get the Take-off Display Stand Set, the Defeat Display Stand Set, and/or the 12" figure and suit set to have your civilian Tony Stark from Toysmon at http://www.toysmon.com/

grendizer1975's picture
Posted by grendizer1975 on 11 November, 2009 - 17:41
You're making me want to buy

You're making me want to buy one of these Iron Man toys. I hope the rumors of War Machine making an appearance in the next movie is true, because I'd love to have a figure like that for Jim Rhode's other skin.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 11 November, 2009 - 18:07
Rumors? War Machine was

Rumors? War Machine was already featured in a couple trailers now, in-suit and everything. He is absolutely confirmed.

delta7890's picture
Posted by delta7890 on 11 November, 2009 - 18:59
I was floored when HLJ put

I was floored when HLJ put this in their last big sale. I think it was 50% off. Being broke at the time was very, very painful. LOL (ouch)

No offense to Atom, but the Downey sculpt looks even better than these pics would have you believe. The glare makes him look...old and haggard? There are some gorgeous pics out there. That head is a total work of art. :-)

japester's picture
Posted by japester on 11 November, 2009 - 21:18
I missed this sale

I missed this sale apparently... damn.

Prometheum5's picture
Posted by Prometheum5 on 11 November, 2009 - 23:11
welll

I bought the figure after a similar review, and it did look great, but had a cranberry not dark red look to it in person, and the plastic on chest was cool, but to me...the legs felt light and flimsy.

AJProDie-Cast's picture
Posted by AJProDie-Cast on 11 November, 2009 - 22:14
Does anyone know if the yet

Does anyone know if the yet to be released battle damaged version has a better paint finish, as Hot Toys suggests?

north-exit's picture
Posted by north-exit on 12 November, 2009 - 02:30
Great Figure

In person the red looks good but it is not the hot rod red it should be like the film. The newer one looks to be that shade and metallic look of hot rod red.

Dkun, your right the shadows make Tony look a bit tired. My bad. The sculpt truly is stunning.

Eva, no other articulation in the torso.

To everyone else, yeah... you want one.

________________________________________
CollectionDX - Assistant Editor - Writer

Atom's picture
Posted by Atom on 12 November, 2009 - 15:04
I always was a bit

I always was a bit suspicious regarding the toys colour hue, but it's good to hear it looks good in person. Thanks for the response & I'm glad you reviewed this cool toy.

north-exit's picture
Posted by north-exit on 12 November, 2009 - 21:02
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net