CollectionDX Network

King of Beast

Comments

20 comments posted
Yeowza! This came out of

Yeowza! This came out of nowhere! I was actually just hemming and hawing over the Toynami version. I think my mind has been made up. The clear red parts near the shoulder joint is a little distracting, but other than that I love it!

Kenny G's picture
Posted by Kenny G on 10 November, 2014 - 19:52
diddio to that. I kinda wish

diddio to that. I kinda wish I'd held out for this instead of getting the 30th anniversary version, still an awesome display piece but it looks like we'll get so much more out of this than a toy that can just look pretty standing up. .

Mazinkaizer's picture
Posted by Mazinkaizer on 10 November, 2014 - 20:26
Nice what a pleasant surprise

Nice what a pleasant surprise at $200. When I first saw this I was under the impression is was Miracle Productions. Wow this holiday season is going to kill me. Ordering now.

TattooedRobot's picture
Posted by TattooedRobot on 10 November, 2014 - 21:40
I am sure I am going to be

I am sure I am going to be buying a chromed version 2 as well.....

TattooedRobot's picture
Posted by TattooedRobot on 10 November, 2014 - 21:42
Licensing issues

What do you think the the odds that Toynami and WEP might acquire this and re-label it as a Voltron figure, similar to what they're doing with the SD Goraion? (I'm guessing they won't, but then again I wouldn't have thought the previous example would have ever happened either)

SpaceRunaway's picture
Posted by SpaceRunaway on 10 November, 2014 - 23:24
Perhaps it's the angle, but

Perhaps it's the angle, but the first picture on the page makes it look like it's making a duckface, which needless to say isn't very appealing. But other than that, and it looking a little bit like Voltron on steroids (it almost makes me think this is based more on a comic book version), this seems like a great toy. Definitely MUCH better looking than the Toynami version, imo. And looks great with your Vehicle Voltron.

NekroDave's picture
Posted by NekroDave on 11 November, 2014 - 02:41
"Big Company"

Josh, your excellent video of an incredible product had me at the unboxing!

RainBot's picture
Posted by RainBot on 11 November, 2014 - 12:23
Gorgeous

Normally I don't like partsformers, but having the ability to remove the faceplate makes the Black Lion look so much better.

Can the cannon on the Yellow Lion lift and rotate?

atom smasher's picture
Posted by atom smasher on 11 November, 2014 - 16:09
How is this a partsformer? It

How is this a partsformer? It looks kanzen henkei to me.

recognizer's picture
Posted by recognizer on 11 November, 2014 - 21:16
Give Me Your Face

I think he's referring to the "King Of Beasts" Gestalt mode face. I'd say [CENSORED DUE TO COPYRIGHT] but ... you know.

Amazing review Josh! That is beyond stunning, and such an appropriate timing on the heals of the release of the Voltron book you worked on!

I think that is the closest to PERFECTION anyone's ever made a [CENSORED DUE TO COPYRIGHT]!

Rob's picture
Posted by Rob on 12 November, 2014 - 09:03
I've never ever been a fan of

I've never ever been a fan of this Voltron however, I did love Dairugger but this release is stunning. I think it's the proportions and build quality that sets it apart.
I must own this as I'm massively overdue buying a combiner mecha having been in the wilderness pretty much after switching to 1/6 figure full time a few years back.
Great review but Josh, your mitts are like a bunch of bananas clogging the screen up. Time to use a hand double bud. :p

Wankor's picture
Posted by Wankor on 12 November, 2014 - 02:36
I had to remove the where to

I had to remove the where to buy links, but lets hope this issue gets resolved soon so fans all over the world can enjoy this piece!

JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 12 November, 2014 - 12:01
Awesome KOB Reviews!!!

Josh, YOU are Da Man! Excellent video and web-page reviews. I've got my keyboard all flooded over
with such intense robogasmic drool watching the video and reading this review! lol
I had just gotten around to hearing the bad news at this time, concerning this King Of Beast figure
and a certain korporate donkey-hole company who is trying their best to prevent this figure
from seeing the light of day.
I can't say enough how much I'm boiling over blood-red when I saw the bad news.
I hope we'll all get to own this magnificent work of art. Great job with this one, brother!

Magengar's picture
Posted by Magengar on 13 November, 2014 - 02:25
Holy crap did they actually

Holy crap did they actually get their website shut down? Google gives you an error.

TattooedRobot's picture
Posted by TattooedRobot on 13 November, 2014 - 20:51
Looks great. But I have a

Looks great.
But I have a sick feeling they will soon release an "Improve Version", a la Miracle Pro, and completely destroy any love from the collectible market.

Arbit's picture
Posted by Arbit on 18 November, 2014 - 06:13
Amazing. How to order?

This looks great. Does anyone know how to order one? The company's web site as gone missing, and none of the usual, reliable import sites have it.

Wicker808's picture
Posted by Wicker808 on 9 December, 2014 - 15:19
Very nice

So I dreamt this morning that I had one and I was holding one in my hands. In the very realistic dream it was hefty and beautiful, and only had one QC issue with a firing head not locking into place and staying half a centimeter out. A small issue with the firing mechanism (which is the only thing I would have skipped entirely).

Aeonstream's picture
Posted by Aeonstream on 13 December, 2014 - 06:45
Got one, and it ROCKS!

This is a great figure! A little too tight in some of the joints, but very sturdy all around. Mine is 100% flawless in both paint and assembly. Definitely the best Voltron/Golion made to date.

}D

The_Mazinger_Z's picture
Posted by The_Mazinger_Z on 13 December, 2014 - 13:45
Just about perfect

Just got mine in the mail today, and I can honestly say there's nothing wrong with it. Would have liked certain features to be added, but considering how perfect it is and how hard it was to get this design right (Mattel & Toynami both failed in my eyes), I'm not complaining.

Hopefully they'll take a crack at vehicle Voltron/Dairugger and Ramrod/Bismarck.

Optimal III's picture
Posted by Optimal III on 17 February, 2015 - 21:10
Definitely not buying.

I've heard some bad things about this toy:

1) Joints are too tight in some places - there's a tendency that something might break from repeated tramsformations.
2) No instructions on how to install the batteries on the cannons and even if you put the correct batteries in any order, nothing happens.
3) Customer service absolutely sucks. Good luck waiting for a response from their rep.

Man, this reeks of that Vehicle Voltron fiasco.

makaikishi's picture
Posted by makaikishi on 6 March, 2015 - 21:41
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net