CollectionDX Network

Soundwave

Comments

14 comments posted
At this point Billy-erm

At this point Billy-erm BLASTER kills Soundwave and what does Galvy have to say bout' that?

"Darn that Soundwave. EYYYAUGGHH!!!!"

mrtrainfreak12's picture
Posted by mrtrainfreak12 on 19 September, 2013 - 17:49
At the risk of sounding like

At the risk of sounding like a Transformer nerd, which I guess I am-that vaccuum piece is some sort of scanner. I was watching G1 with my daughter and he actually used it in the show which I thought was cool. Soundwave is one of my daughters favorite TFs and my wife thinks he looks cool. Soundwave must get a ton of chicks

chachipower's picture
Posted by chachipower on 19 September, 2013 - 18:34
One thing to look out for

One thing to look out for when buying SW is that the left side of his facemask is gouged out. Apparently the factory worker is using snips and cutting to close to the mask when removing it from the tree during assembly. I bought one that had a good chunk cut out and sadly had to return it. Looked horrible

chachipower's picture
Posted by chachipower on 19 September, 2013 - 18:36
On jeez! That sounds awful.

On jeez! That sounds awful. Do you have pics of it?

Dkun's picture
Posted by Dkun on 19 September, 2013 - 19:03
A tale of two Beaks :D

To that end i feel i should tell the story of how i came to own 2 Masterpiece Soundwaves just for Laserbeak :S. In short, i originally bought the Takara version when it first came out and loved it, but then Laserbeak had broke after a month a transforming it back and forth (I'm usually very careful with these things :S) and so began my search for the Hasbro version solely to replace my broken Laserbeak.

So ya, i needed to have Laserbeak back in my collection cuz he was just so badass in the G1 Show :D.

Mazinkaizer's picture
Posted by Mazinkaizer on 20 September, 2013 - 03:23
I feel like getting this set

I feel like getting this set just for Laserbeak.

Goldenage's picture
Posted by Goldenage on 19 September, 2013 - 19:55
I know some people who

I know some people who seriously say that Laserbeak is their favorite Masterpiece Transformer now.

Dkun's picture
Posted by Dkun on 19 September, 2013 - 21:29
Wait, what? People seriously

Wait, what?

People seriously think MP Laserbeak is the best MP toy?

Also on an unrelated note, I am PUMPED to get this figure someday:D

mrtrainfreak12's picture
Posted by mrtrainfreak12 on 21 September, 2013 - 09:59
Wahhhhhhh!!!

I hate stateside exclusives....cause they never bloody come to Canada....so close yet so far away.

I still want Optimus Prime...and now Soundwave...

I dunno if I missed it in the review cause of all the awesome pictures, but the engineering in ravage is pretty cool....but laserbeak is pretty awesome. Reason being laserbeak/buzzsaw 's laserpack is actually part of the transformation. No having to keep track of where you left it, I like how they put rumble/frenzy 's guns inside the piledrivers too.

Heres hoping it comes to Canada....sooner or later..

blade-edge's picture
Posted by blade-edge on 19 September, 2013 - 23:11
Soundwave, Acid Storm and

Soundwave, Acid Storm and Metroplex were all available as Toys R Us exclusives up here too.

Court's picture
Posted by Court on 21 September, 2013 - 10:42
Incredible value

It's amazing that for once, the American release is a better value than the Japanese one. It comes with all five cassettes versus just Laserbeak... and for about $100 less (even factoring shipping the ginormous box overseas).

The original Soundwave was one of the first toys I ever ordered off the Internet back in 1997 from Robozone back when they were in business. This new piece has exceeded my expectations. I have some tiny complaints: it would be nice if Rumble/Frenzy had waists, the back could use a cover with a belt clip, and ridges around the center so that Laserbeak could "carry" Soundwave while perching on top of him in player mode would add some display value. But those should be no means be dealbreakers.

If you want to round out the tape roster, get the Boxbomber set from Keith's Fantasy Club since I doubt Takara is going to make updates of Squawkbox and his components (or any other Con tapes after Ratbat). Masterpiece Soundwave even comes with storage for their weapons thanks to the Energon cube. Honestly, except for a slight lack of paint (which I'm sure Reprolabels will correct soon), you'd think they were official releases. KFC has also announced Slugfest and Overkill updates to complete the ranks.

atom smasher's picture
Posted by atom smasher on 19 September, 2013 - 23:22
Soundwave Superior

Sorry Folks
I almost got Ph.D in G1 transformers
The wait is Finally Over
We Got the MP Soundwave we have been dying to get!!
It looks Amazing along with the articulation.

That's a Great Review

If Takara Hasbro ever give us in masterpiece form; a rebooted G1 gun Megatron, Devastator!!, Insecticons, and the Coneheads
I just might be able to die a Happy Robot

ThePlasticRobot's picture
Posted by ThePlasticRobot on 21 September, 2013 - 00:30
Great!

Fantastic piece. I love that the American release has all five Cassettetrons packaged with it, I think the Takara release only came with Laserbeak, you had to buy the others separately. Although I would have preferred someone else other than Buzzsaw, being just a repaint.

Takara recently announced Masterpiece Soundblaster would be released. Think it's due out in March, with Ratbat. I hope we get more Cassettes as well.

RobertG22's picture
Posted by RobertG22 on 21 September, 2013 - 17:59
Frenzy

Frenzy looks really good in the two shades of purple. Maybe a blue/silver Microman homage version will be released one day as well as alternate colour versions of the other cassettes.

Scarfang_The_Slayer's picture
Posted by Scarfang_The_Slayer on 27 July, 2014 - 19:59
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net