CollectionDX Network

Scorponok

Comments

18 comments posted
His color scheme, along with

His color scheme, along with Piranacon(combined form of the Seacons) is the 1980s in a nutshell: One bright acid trip.

RobertG22's picture
Posted by RobertG22 on 20 February, 2015 - 03:33
European Action Masters

If you think that's bad, check out the European exclusive Action Masters! http://www.tfu.info/1991/Decepticon/Thundercracker/thundercracker.htm

Ginrai's picture
Posted by Ginrai on 20 February, 2015 - 15:43
Was Scorponok really $38 in

Was Scorponok really $38 in 1987?

I still have mine and cherish it so. I lost the head when I took it to a trip my aunt and my mother was nice enough to order another Scorp just for the head (then return the main figure).

Which BTW, apparently Trypticon is getting a U.S. reissue. Wonder what that's gonna cost (something terribly expensive I imagine).

VZMK2's picture
Posted by VZMK2 on 20 February, 2015 - 08:30
38 Bucks

$38 comes from: http://www.seibertron.com/energonpub/original-cost-of-g1-transformers-t48327.php If you really want, you could explore http://pleasesavemerobots.blogspot.com/ He photographs vintage toy ads.

Hmm actually http://pleasesavemerobots.com/vstp/vstptf87.html#hesc87

I guess $34.99 was more common. MAYBE I WILL CHANGE IT.

Cool that you got a replacement head for your Scorponok!

Where did year hear Trypticon is getting reissued? That's the first I've heard of it!

Ginrai's picture
Posted by Ginrai on 20 February, 2015 - 15:46
http://www.tfw2005.com/transf

http://www.tfw2005.com/transformers-news/generations-classics-44/new-transformers-product-details-from-hong-kong-event-titan-devastator-reisssues-masterpiece-181885/

VZMK2's picture
Posted by VZMK2 on 20 February, 2015 - 20:36
Trypticon

Cool! Hope it's true! I want a Trypticon! Of course, I could REALLY go for a Titan Trypticon in scale with Metroplex...

Ginrai's picture
Posted by Ginrai on 20 February, 2015 - 22:10
Skid Row never sounded so good

Fun review! I look forward to the day when I own a G1 Scorponok. Hopefully he'll be reissued sometime before then though. He doesn't sound like he's worth the money an MISB figure goes for these days.

Optimal III's picture
Posted by Optimal III on 20 February, 2015 - 10:26
Reissue

A reissue of Scorponok would be rad, but yeah, I wouldn't pay huge inflated MISB prices on ebay or whatever. Might be worth it to get a beater and buy parts for it. The scorpion legs are easy to replace.

Ginrai's picture
Posted by Ginrai on 20 February, 2015 - 15:47
KO Remade

There is a fake reissue out there, but while it 'looks' okay, it's structurally flawed. Poor injection, uses screws instead of pins in some places, and there's bad plastic quality.

Rob's picture
Posted by Rob on 20 February, 2015 - 17:14
Bootleg

Yeah, I know. I mentioned the bootleg in my review and linked to an article about how to tell it from the real deal.

Ginrai's picture
Posted by Ginrai on 20 February, 2015 - 22:08
Love that palette...

Great review! Scorponok finally gets his due on CollectionDX. I never owned him as a kid either, in fact I don't even remember having seen one in person. And btw, just like fine wine... his deco gets better with age : )

north-exit's picture
Posted by north-exit on 21 February, 2015 - 04:23
You plan on reviewing Black

You plan on reviewing Black Zarak? Shame it's full of GPS for a rare and expensive toy.

VZMK2's picture
Posted by VZMK2 on 21 February, 2015 - 09:04
BZ

Yep, Black Zarak is on the way!

Ginrai's picture
Posted by Ginrai on 21 February, 2015 - 21:03
His robot mode looks a lot

His robot mode looks a lot better if you move his shoulders up a notch.

Tetsuryu's picture
Posted by Tetsuryu on 22 February, 2015 - 04:10
GPS no bueno

Good luck with that Black Zarak. I've often thought that whenever I get one, I'll also pick up a junker Scorponok or two. Figure I can figure out how to take it apart, and then repaint whatever parts might need to be replaced on Black Zarak.

Optimal III's picture
Posted by Optimal III on 23 February, 2015 - 09:47
So that's what the whole

So that's what the whole thing looks like! I've seen some pictures, but never a full review of all the features. I had this one, but only a basic stripped down one from a flea market - it was missing just about everything. I swung the tail forward to use as the "head", and then....well, I covered it in white and hot orange plastic paints (puffy paint?) I can't really vouch for my child-self, back then. No idea what the paint was supposed to be.

Just a testament to how awesome this guy is, though! I had a blast with even my stripped down one. Would have been cool to have all the stuff (and I didn't even know he turned into a base, though I suspected it and tried to do it on my own) but this thing is so fun that it doesn't even need all the accessories to be awesome.

Alexx's picture
Posted by Alexx on 23 February, 2015 - 14:16
For much of my childhood (up

For much of my childhood (up until I'd say around when Power Rangers came out), Scorpy was the largest robot I had. Unlike Metroplex (which was notorious for breaking at the waist), Scorponok wa fairly sturdy,

VZMK2's picture
Posted by VZMK2 on 23 February, 2015 - 16:24
Unlike you, I'm not offended

Unlike you, I'm not offended by dayglo colour schemes, and with Scorponok being a favourite of mine since childhood...well, I never actually owned one as a kid, and I didn't even acquire one until about two years ago, when I pieced one together from two different sources - which to date makes this the only TF I've ever "pieced together", which should be fairly telling of how bad I wanted one. I'm still missing two of the small antennas, but like you said, the base mode is pretty weak, so mine hardly ever spends any time in that mode anyway.

Tetsuryu's picture
Posted by Tetsuryu on 25 February, 2015 - 21:48
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net