CollectionDX Network

War Machine (Comic Series)

Comments

10 comments posted
This toy seems really

This toy seems really kick-4$$, the way a War Machine toy should be. Good review.
Of course, I feel a little old now, since you were a kid watching War Machine on TV, and I was a kid reading about Tony Stark building his third or fourth suit of armor, still needing to wear the chestplate all the time to keep his heart going, and Rhodey hadn't put a suit on yet. I'm still young enough at heart to love this toy, though.

seraph2011's picture
Posted by seraph2011 on 21 May, 2010 - 22:36
Did Stark ever get rid of

Did Stark ever get rid of the shrapnel/bullets in the comic(s), or was he permanently like that? I know he wore a metal vest with the magnet in it, unlike the film where it's just that smaller thing carved into his sternum.

------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 23 May, 2010 - 00:23
He must have by now, but I

He must have by now, but I haven't read a Marvel comic in many years. Except Thor, and The Twelve, written by J Michael Strazcinski.

seraph2011's picture
Posted by seraph2011 on 23 May, 2010 - 08:52
Yes.

The shrapnel is no longer a factor. But due to various story arcs a reactor is now back in his chest.

GrayFox's picture
Posted by GrayFox on 23 May, 2010 - 23:48
It's really a nice toy, but

It's really a nice toy, but I don't like the shoulder pads, especially if it moves forward. It feels like the toy's attack position is done by their right or left side of the body.

EDIT: but still, gotta buy them :D

"henshin!"

"transform and roll out"

ro-berto's picture
Posted by ro-berto on 22 May, 2010 - 01:47
I went for the modern

I went for the modern "movie" version of War Machine. If you think the original version looks good, you'll be amazed at the new one! It is awesome!

}D

The Mazinger Z's picture
Posted by The Mazinger Z on 22 May, 2010 - 17:43
Yes, I intend to review him

Yes, I intend to review him next in a couple of days. He's very nice.

Dkun's picture
Posted by Dkun on 22 May, 2010 - 18:28
I thought about getting

I thought about getting movie-Iron Monger w/opening torso, but couldn't bring myself to do it. The paint apps seemed kinda flimsy.

------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 23 May, 2010 - 00:25
Yeah I actually have the

Yeah I actually have the movie version and the comic version and for the price are both really cool little figures. I do agree that movie warmachine has that more "mecha" looks, lots more sharp angles and sleeker armor design, but still suffers from the should pad design. Still again for the price both awesome little figures.

NEOGETTER's picture
Posted by NEOGETTER on 22 May, 2010 - 21:38
Stumbled across a full

Stumbled across a full assortment of the entire first wave before anyone was talking about them, a while back, and was pleasantly shocked. These are much better sculpts than the comparable Marvel Universe figures.

Decided on this figure (over the movie War Machine design), Crimson Dynamo, and the First Appearance armor--all comic designs. For an armor junkie, these are very faithful to their comic origins. And the size and price point make them much easier to collect and display (although all 3 are played with constantly at my place!).

@seraph
I'm with you. When I think back to the Iron Man cartoon I watched as a kid, it was this:
Iron Man Cartoon theme

japester's picture
Posted by japester on 25 May, 2010 - 13:10
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net