CollectionDX Network

Xeku with MachineMirror

Comments

15 comments posted
Great first review!

Hi, Wallas, thanks for contributing such a nice review! Microman is a great line and I used to love it's US counterpart (Micronauts) as a kid. If I were a rich man, I'd totally buy a ton of them. I grabbed a few of the recent Palisades re-issues but they were garbage and all broke. :(


Also, cool to see a collector from an "unusual" country. And by that I just mean from a country that isn't well known as a hotbed of Japanese robot collectors. Is there a bigger audience for it in that country than we are aware of? Little know fact: I think that at least two of us here (me and Atom) are of Polish decent. ;)


"This must be settled the way nature intended....with a vicious, bloody fight!"
Onyx Blackman
Principal, Flatpoint High

NekroDave's picture
Posted by NekroDave on 25 March, 2008 - 19:35
Thanks :)

Heh, it's to nice to suprise you with my country of origin :) About that toy audience you asked about... I don't know the exact numbers, but right now I guess that our toy-lover society has about 100 real (late teen and adults) members and more than 200 part-time (kids, probably they will grow up and lose their interest) participants. Mostly, our group consists from Transformers collectors, but I know few people who also collect Revoltech, SOC and Yamato Valkyries (though it's veeery unusual due to not-that-high earnings and that bloody tax- we must pay extra charge for anything shipped from the outisde of European Union and it usually costs the same or more than the shipping).

So that's how it is :)

BTW, did you know that the guys who founded Hasbro were actually polish imigrants? It sure knocked me from my chair when I read that :D

Wallas's picture
Posted by Wallas on 26 March, 2008 - 04:27
There's THREE of us here of

There's THREE of us here of Polish decent!

Wallas,a lot of the carded Japanese toys are packaged like this one,allthough I don't remember offhand if any Transformers ones are.

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 27 March, 2008 - 11:49
MICRO WARNING!!!

...be very careful with the feet & ankles of this series, they are made of fragile vac metal plastic, and crack very easily. I've had 2 1/2 sets of this series (and i'm very careful with my collection!)

thanks for reviewing this, its a fun piece...

The Big R's picture
Posted by The Big R on 25 March, 2008 - 21:30
I agree I got this red one

I agree I got this red one from Japan but the other 3 are from the US all the US ones had something wrong with them mostly cracks or busted feet so now after some glue they all stay in their packs. I hear that alot of the ones sent to the US had quality issues that the later japanese toys had fixed

my other microman items are fine and strong as hell since they seem to be made of a much stronger plastic so don't judge all the toys on the quality of this guy

Transformer and other robot art by me on my DA site blitz-wing.deviantart.com

Blitz's picture
Posted by Blitz on 26 March, 2008 - 09:44
Damage report

Oh, then I whish I had my items from Japan- BM-03 Hack that I got along with Xeku got a crack on his feet the day I opened him...

Wallas's picture
Posted by Wallas on 26 March, 2008 - 12:16
I remember one of mine was

I remember one of mine was even missing a screw in the leg so it just fell apart

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Transformer and other robot art by me on my DA site blitz-wing.deviantart.com

Blitz's picture
Posted by Blitz on 26 March, 2008 - 15:05
Nice review, Wallas!

Nice photo's...they really capture the shine on the chrome, which is actually my favorite part of Microman toys! I only have a few modern Microman figures from here and there--just ones that look cool to me. I haven't a clue what their story is either, but that's just fine by me.

I like toys. That's all I need to know! ;)

Microforever is a great site with lots of Microman, Diaclone, etc., info on figures like this. Great resource.

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 26 March, 2008 - 13:47
I'm the same. I think the

I'm the same. I think the back story is that toy toys a re 1:1 scale and their is a war going on between the micromen and the acroyear who were micromen but have been infected with a virus of some sort

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Transformer and other robot art by me on my DA site blitz-wing.deviantart.com

Blitz's picture
Posted by Blitz on 26 March, 2008 - 15:08
And you think were did I do

And you think were did I do my research, eh? :P Thanks for the warm words :) I had some time to work on these photos, actually- I've been doing my own toy site for 3 years and had time to improve over the years :)

Wallas's picture
Posted by Wallas on 26 March, 2008 - 17:15
Hehe...

"I've been doing my own toy site for 3 years..."

It shows! :)

Your pics look very refined...I hope to have my own style of photography settled in at some point...

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 26 March, 2008 - 22:34
So,did the Transformers

So,did the Transformers movie come out in Poland with Polish subtitles?

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 27 March, 2008 - 17:31
Yep, I was lucky enough to

Yep, I was lucky enough to participate in their preparation :) (working with Hasbro, having connections, y'know, that stuff).

Someone mentioned me making some TF reviews here... well, I'm doing so since 2004 on my own site, the problem is, I don't have time (read: I'm far too lazy) to translate my texts into english :P

But, if anyone wonders how would my photo style apply to TF toys, go check my site :)
http://transformery.pl/wallaformers/

And my promo pics for polish online toyshops :D
http://transformery.pl/wallaformers/hasbro/hasbro.html

Booyah:D

Wallas's picture
Posted by Wallas on 28 March, 2008 - 11:04
Review

Great review. I do not know much about Micronauts/ Microman, but from what I have seen and your review, they are nice pieces for robot collectors.

Mark M's picture
Posted by Mark M on 18 June, 2008 - 11:19
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net