CollectionDX Network

Andromeda (Original Version)

Comments

10 comments posted
Translation

I believe the kanji read "Chikyuu Renpou Gun Senkan - Andoromeda" -- or, translated into English, "Earth Federation Army Battleship - Andromeda". I could be wrong, but I'm fairly sure that I'm close.

YuushaFan's picture
Posted by YuushaFan on 17 July, 2010 - 10:25
thanks

your translation makes sense

AJProDie-Cast's picture
Posted by AJProDie-Cast on 17 July, 2010 - 11:15
Wicked

Pretty awesome. I liked the Argo design a tad more, though this is quite good. $400 though? You're a braver man than I. I'm glad I don't get into the ship collecting. So many cool Japanese sci-fi ships. I just stick to monsters and robots... For now.

InfiniteHollywood.com

Newton Gimmick's picture
Posted by Newton Gimmick on 17 July, 2010 - 13:20
Thanks for the review. It

Thanks for the review. It nearly KILLED me to pass on this one, but money was way too tight at the time. The Andromeda was long overdue (Mechanic File, anyone?).

The metallic color doesn't do it for me, but I just saw pics of a prototype Soul of Chogokin version, done in the same style as the GX-57. Anyone know any details about that? Getting a tricked-out Andromeda, even if largely plastic, would rock.

japester's picture
Posted by japester on 17 July, 2010 - 15:14
Just how heavy is thing? I'm

Just how heavy is thing? I'm guessing it's a good 5-10 pounds.

secretcode's picture
Posted by secretcode on 17 July, 2010 - 19:09
yeah

5 pounds, it is die-cast..but not solid, like it has space in the middle...like most robots.

AJProDie-Cast's picture
Posted by AJProDie-Cast on 17 July, 2010 - 20:19
I disagree, Andromeda didn't get punked

It went out fighting the Comet Empire, man. Last survivor of an entire fleet. Destroyed as it's captain gave our heroes the key to victory.

Boba Fett fell into a giant, toothed and tentacled, rectum.

Not equivalent by any means.

Respect the Andromeda, jive turkey.

Robokeith's picture
Posted by Robokeith on 18 July, 2010 - 12:11
funny

Funny, i was going to rant...how personal
attacks are totally uncool and the word "rectum" is kiddish and incorrect, and finally stick up for my opinion...but then i wondered...if "starblaser" editing colored this event...well I had to delete my words and maybe i remember it wrong as a kid...but on youtube they have http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PlgAbO9cQYw
and it shows Andromeda taking like a million hits, Gideon telling yamato what he should have done, and then with his ship totally inflames...he rams the middle gun area of the ship. Thereby, Andromeda and Boba Fett have zero in common. Now I just have to figure out if my childhood memories are flawed or Starblasers did have the whack demise like i remember and cut out the ship ramming part...I know they cut out the bodies being killed. BTW watch the JP version of the assault on the comet ship by the fighters and Marines...much more realistic and gory than the us version...

AJProDie-Cast's picture
Posted by AJProDie-Cast on 18 July, 2010 - 14:13
MARMIT - DAIGOKIN - ANDROMEDA

Undoubtedly a nice diecast model but too expensive for me. I'll stick to classic robots I've watched in my childhood. Thank you for sharing this great review.

grendizer1975's picture
Posted by grendizer1975 on 18 July, 2010 - 15:06
wow

SOOOooo many Star Blazer memories just came flooding back! I want this SO bad...but that price...ouch....

whead3592's picture
Posted by whead3592 on 30 July, 2010 - 20:08
 
CollectionDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net