CollectionDX Network

Robot Taekwon V

Comments

16 comments posted
Its about time!

Its about time somebody reviewed this generally unknown Chogokin! This is an awesome figure and all die cast to boot, why they didn't produce a regular version I don't understand as 1976 is such a small number. I'll just wait for the korean bootleg version! LOL

Leonardo Flores
CollectionDX Staff Writer-West Coast Bureau

Showapop's picture
Posted by Showapop on 10 November, 2009 - 15:02
This exists?!

I'm actually pretty damn surprised this exists, but dear lord is it glorious. If anything, from the films, Taekwon V is far more of a ripoff of Uchuu Senkan Yamato, IMO.

His cat ears are kinda funny, though.
---
Humanity calls out to me, Kamen Rider Stronger, etc.

Rankarana's picture
Posted by Rankarana on 10 November, 2009 - 16:23
Robot Taekwon V

To be honest, I never knew this mean (Korean)bastard existed. The diecast model is exquisite. I also liked the YouTube clips. The animation reminds me more of Astroganger but the 'V' on his chest is clearly a plagiarism of Great Mazinger. All in all the robot is too cool to be true. Personally, I don't consider the screw holes as a flaw. Great review. Thanks for sharing.

grendizer1975's picture
Posted by grendizer1975 on 10 November, 2009 - 17:13
So sexy it hurts..

I also have a soft spot for Taekwon V and if I were still buying gokin, I would have been all over this piece. I have to think that there is a vintage Korean jumbo out there somewhere, outside of the King Of The King, but as yet, I've never seen nor heard of one. :( Will have to settle for finding that 22" modern vinyl one of these days.

"This must be settled the way nature intended....with a vicious, bloody fight!"
Onyx Blackman
Principal, Flatpoint High

NekroDave's picture
Posted by NekroDave on 10 November, 2009 - 17:38
"why they didn't produce a
    "why they didn't produce a regular version I don't understand"

They did make a plastic version, actually, which is just a little smaller but has slightly better articulation and slightly different coloration.

Piccie: Here

Picture source: robot japan

quinjester's picture
Posted by quinjester on 10 November, 2009 - 17:45
I didn't know that was the regular version

I've been eying that one for a while and didn't realize this was the stock version but I would have hoped the stock version would be metal as well!

Thanks for the link!

Leonardo Flores
CollectionDX Staff Writer-West Coast Bureau

Showapop's picture
Posted by Showapop on 10 November, 2009 - 23:44
oh well

nice robot, but only see it for 160 plus 25 shipping= too pricy for me...

AJProDie-Cast's picture
Posted by AJProDie-Cast on 10 November, 2009 - 18:01
At best, Taekwon V is simply

At best, Taekwon V is simply inspired by the Dynamic Pro robots (Mazinger, Getter, etc) that dominated the 70's mecha scene. The unfortunate problem is that it spawned numerous animated features that do ripoff Japanese anime directly. Poor Taekwon V had his head ripped off an placed on everything from Xabungle to God Sigma.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 10 November, 2009 - 19:18
I demand to see this toy

I demand to see this toy with Taekwon V's head on Xabungle.

Dkun's picture
Posted by Dkun on 10 November, 2009 - 20:00
Super Taekwon V
VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 10 November, 2009 - 22:16
Though the series is pretty

Though the series is pretty bad, even compared to others of it's day, this robot is awesome. I like that he's taller than the Mazinger SOC, since Taekwon is a 'bigger and better'Korean semi-ripoff version of Mazinger anyway. Love the review of this mostly-unknown robot.

seraph2011's picture
Posted by seraph2011 on 10 November, 2009 - 23:03
Love the juxtaposition of a

Love the juxtaposition of a totally ripped-off design (let's face it, that is Mazinger with a few very minor tweaks) being given such a high-end SOC-like presentation! It's rare that a funky bootleg style design gets such nice treatment. I'd be all over this, too, if I was still buying a lot of diecast.

My only problem with it, and it does bug me, is that he looks like he's wearing a ball gag. No joke. I can't escape that imagery. Maybe that is based on a cultural mask or something, but it just doesn't work for me. :-(

japester's picture
Posted by japester on 11 November, 2009 - 00:17
Good lord thats beautiful!

Who knew South Korea could put out such quality(Best ripoff ever) damn near on par with SOC.....drooling.

Lorddremen's picture
Posted by Lorddremen on 11 November, 2009 - 13:07
I'm Jealous of Dan getting

I'm Jealous of Dan getting this... Although I think my ultimate holy grail may now be a bootleg NORTH KOREAN toy.

------------------------------
CollectionDX Admin

JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 11 November, 2009 - 13:52
Well I'm Jealous that your

Well I'm Jealous that your going to Morphy's, So Ha! LOL

-Dan
CollectionDX LLC
Vice President/Co-Owner

Shogundan's picture
Posted by Shogundan on 11 November, 2009 - 14:20
Its like Mazinger and

Its like Mazinger and Frankenstein Junior had a baby...

Are those hands mostly copied from the SOC Mazinger as well?

AcroRay's picture
Posted by AcroRay on 12 November, 2009 - 11:44
 
CollectionDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net