CollectionDX Network

Dragonar-1

Comments

23 comments posted
wow

finally the review ive been waiting for this quarter... toy looks awesome, the box is awesome, detail is awesome and articulation is again, AWESOME... no need to think twice about it.. will surely get one... great review chief, thanks!

overclocked's picture
Posted by overclocked on 28 March, 2010 - 04:53
well....

When i received, i emailed Josh to warn people about this thing. You usually tell a lemon by how it sells. I was a moron and pre-ordered this thing because every other max-gokin sold out quick was high metal content and cool. Unfortunately, I was so upset when I opened the shipment box and felt how light everything was. I agree with Josh that it posses so well, but all plastic...is like a hot toys doll. Except they don't pop things off like pop corn when you pose it. I do hate this figure because i wanted a high metal content item that would stand next to all the other max-gokin and instead I got a hot toy rendition... of something...It does not help me state of mind that I pre-ordered and now see it everywhere, cheaper and cheaper...for example it started out 210 at angloz and now is 155...if you like a robot that looks good in various posses buy it...if you wanted a chogokin to go along with your DIECAST collection...move on...if you ignore these tidings...it will be like a dead albatross hanging around the neck of your collection leading you into a sunbaked still death of plastics and fogginess of hot toys in your collecting...future

AJProDie-Cast's picture
Posted by AJProDie-Cast on 28 March, 2010 - 08:26
BTW

even though I loath this item...as always a great review Josh

AJProDie-Cast's picture
Posted by AJProDie-Cast on 28 March, 2010 - 08:27
Great review as usual. While

Great review as usual. While I'm satisfied with having both SOC SPEC ones, the Max Gokin has such incredible detail on it. Too bad about the low metal content vs. the price but still they did a wonderful job.

BTW I watched all of the anime (ripped from an HK bootleg DVD). While it was OK, it really felt like a standard Sunrise mecha anime and you can tell they were really trying hard to make it the next Gundam. The seriousness of the war plot and the comedy didn't blend well (L-Gaim did it better). The designs from it however, are awesome.

Let's see if they a Falguen Max Gokin (think of it as the equivalent of Char's MS).

VZMK2's picture
Posted by VZMK2 on 28 March, 2010 - 08:57
I love the patriotic color

I love the patriotic color scheme,but just like Gundam it seems odd that they'd choose it for a Japanese robot.

---------------------------------------------
A master of mind control who hides inside a Ford Pickup

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 28 March, 2010 - 09:41
A lot of the original

A lot of the original concept designs for Dragonar were labeled as being NASA robots. You can see them in the Kunio Okawara Real Robot Design Works.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 28 March, 2010 - 09:55
It is either retarded or

It is either retarded or awesome that you need a special tool to attach the shield.

jacksauce's picture
Posted by jacksauce on 28 March, 2010 - 09:52
I think it perfectly shows

I think it perfectly shows that even though these are "toys" there not toys meant for your children. Hell most Japanese kids probably don't know who Dragonar is unless they played a SRW game with Dragonar in it and would probably poke out an eye or stick that tool up their nose lol.

I forgot to mention that I own the past three MF releases and I consider them the most beautiful/stylished figures in this market, fragile but the sculpting is breathtaking.

CHEN's picture
Posted by CHEN on 28 March, 2010 - 10:13
It's a decent figure but MF

It's a decent figure but MF figures are like CM's figures way too overpriced for what you get but unlike CM's, MF figures usually don't drop in price. Also MF figures have been lowering there diecast content for awhile, besides GGGG which had a ton Godannar and Mazinkaiser (you could include Konami's Gurren Lagann if you believe rumors it was designed by MF) had quite a bit less. Still a great looking figure and like it has been stated prices have dropped a ton on these so if you want one I'd pick one up now because MF figures have a track record of going up in price with very few re-issues.

CHEN's picture
Posted by CHEN on 28 March, 2010 - 10:04
RAD

I could tell Josh was having flashbacks to the 80s while shooting the review. This does look like a great toy and isn't priced too badly at angolz. List price is absurd for what you get. Certainly if The Soul Spec version had not come out I would have bought this toy, but I am content with what I have for now.

Anavel's picture
Posted by Anavel on 28 March, 2010 - 10:42
White gloves? Seriously?

Come on...why not some actual quality, rather than tacky dress-up wrapping meant to make us think "this toy is super extra awesome, so much so that the box includes special handling equipment, that's how you know it's worth the price".

I'm reminded of the bit in "Spinal Tap" where the guy says "don't look at the guitar, you'll ruin the sound".

RobotBastard's picture
Posted by RobotBastard on 28 March, 2010 - 11:06
Like others have said, the

Like others have said, the Soul SPEC seems to do pretty much everything this one does and at a far more acceptable price point. That said, great review.

delta7890's picture
Posted by delta7890 on 28 March, 2010 - 11:15
I'm with you.

Diecast count is low on my personal list of toy-needs. Frankly, I'd gladly pass on it in most toys if it's shave $50 off the price and make poseing easier. Still, it's a 'To each his own' thing and I can respect that Diecast enthusiasts are depressed at what seems to be the increased difficulty in pursuing their hobby.

As to this toy: it looks sweeter than sugar, but I have no attatchment to the unit itself, so it barely makes a blib on my 'Go buy it!' scanners. Still, I will keep this glowing assesment of it in mind and, if that price plummets to $100 even or so, one just might find it's way to my shelf.

All well engineered robots that look awesome are welcome in my home!

Felixman's picture
Posted by Felixman on 28 March, 2010 - 13:09
Dragonar and Hot Toys

What I find strange is that there was someone who mentioned Hot Toys as if it was some company producing toy dolls. Hey Hot Toys is one of the best companies around!!! However, I think I'll pass on this one as I have never seen the anime and it has no nostalgic value whatsoever to me.

grendizer1975's picture
Posted by grendizer1975 on 28 March, 2010 - 18:02
Josh, you think you can scan

Josh, you think you can scan some of that magazine? It's ok if you don't want to as I wouldn't want to ruin it though.

VZMK2's picture
Posted by VZMK2 on 28 March, 2010 - 13:04
The Masami Obari art book

The Masami Obari art book has a number of images of this mecha (as well as his other works). That it is modeled on his animation design of Dragonar for the opening of the show is enough to make me want the toy :)

Also the SOC Dancouga reflects Obari's animation reworking of the original Dancouga design. The old Godiakin Dancouga is basied on the original line art for the mecha, the toy was in development before Obari was allowed to rework it. You can find the original line art in the Dancouga Memorial art book.

BraveMSW's picture
Posted by BraveMSW on 28 March, 2010 - 19:19
Maybe this is because I'm a

Maybe this is because I'm a little younger than some of you,so most of my toys were plastic or 50/50 plastic/metal like Transformers,but I just can't understand people who think a toy needs to have x amount of metal or it's trash. Yes,I do think metal adds value,but I'm not going to dismiss a toy instantly for being plastic.

And yeah,count me in as someone who doesn't get why we're making fun of Hot Toys now. I thought they were like the best in the business.

---------------------------------------------
A master of mind control who hides inside a Ford Pickup

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 29 March, 2010 - 08:33
Well, part of it is the way

Well, part of it is the way this toy is billed... I'm not a huge diecast person either, but I think it definitely has its place (I really like toys that use diecast for structural reasons, like the Yamato Ingram), but when a toy is sold under the 'Max Gokin' line, I think it's reasonable to expect a certain level of metal content.

http://prometheusrising.wordpress.com

Prometheum5's picture
Posted by Prometheum5 on 29 March, 2010 - 08:35
True,but I don't think it

True,but I don't think it should stop people from at least taking a look at the toy.

---------------------------------------------
A master of mind control who hides inside a Ford Pickup

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 29 March, 2010 - 08:56
but...

when every other toy in the line had high metal content and the darn title line is Max-Gokin---I.E much metal...don't care when a toy has high plastic content...but at least when you know...just like the plastic pieces in chogokin that were once metal...sigh...people just don't get how hard it is to get accurate materials content...until alas...you already bought the frackin' thing...

AJProDie-Cast's picture
Posted by AJProDie-Cast on 29 March, 2010 - 17:06
This guy looks like Gundam

This guy looks like Gundam Evel Knievel. I dig it.

djinniman37's picture
Posted by djinniman37 on 29 March, 2010 - 09:30
Great review , Josh.

Great review , Josh.

chogokin _one's picture
Posted by chogokin _one on 31 March, 2010 - 20:01
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net