CollectionDX Network

Car Transporter

Comments

11 comments posted
It's so cool and futuristic.

It's so cool and futuristic.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 22 March, 2010 - 13:04
He he, awesome. I always

He he, awesome. I always wanted one of those types of trucks; I had a ton of hot wheels. I know I had a micro machine truck like that, but the only accessory I had for hot wheels was some car wash with a dirty car that became "clean" with hot water.

Alexx's picture
Posted by Alexx on 22 March, 2010 - 15:49
Weird. I vaguely recall a

Weird. I vaguely recall a friend of mine having the cab without the trailer. It was still cool as hell. I've got a box of my old Matchbox cars somewhere. The same cars, in the same case, since the early 70's. ^_^ My favorites tended to have the same futuristic vibe that this one has, particularly in the cockpit details. Some were perfect stand-ins for Lost in Space vehicles and the like.

Great story. Glad this one came back around for ya (twice!).

japester's picture
Posted by japester on 22 March, 2010 - 16:38
The design of this cab is

The design of this cab is really great. I'd like to see it with different trailers... like a fire truck type unit.

I LOVE those metal and rubber pistons, riveted into place. I had a toy of one of those little wheel loaders, the "skid-steer" or "skid loader" kind where the bars wrap around the cockpit, which had some pistons like that in a framework with multiple hinged points for realistic lifting motion, and it was fantastic to have that complexity in such a tiny package. They still make some toys like that in John Deere and Caterpillar branded toy lines, and they usually have nice use of metal, great paint, etc.

The contemporary Matchbox "working" vehicles aren't so great. But they recently did a nice small car carrier truck, the type that tilts its bed and has a plate that slides out.

recognizer's picture
Posted by recognizer on 22 March, 2010 - 17:57
I had one of these in 1984,

I had one of these in 1984, man I'm gonna cry...

north-exit's picture
Posted by north-exit on 22 March, 2010 - 20:19
Great Story

I tell you, great story, Josh... of course they toy itself is great... if only it could transform...

Berserk's picture
Posted by Berserk on 22 March, 2010 - 21:00
Awesome review, Josh. I can

Awesome review, Josh. I can totally believe the part about finding it at Matt's house. There is no toy you could tell me you found there and have it surprise me.

"You can't sell it until you get it from him, but you gotta sell it to pay him to get it to sell it".
---Jerilock, talking about me trying to raise the money I need to pay for the toys I already bought....

NekroDave's picture
Posted by NekroDave on 22 March, 2010 - 23:26
Wowz, Josh. What a rush.

As soon as I saw it, I had these shivering feeling.

Memories of this had just slipped away, but as soon as I glimpsed at the opening shot, it all came back. I used to own this. It's one of those (very few) toys that got thrown out as I grew up, probably because it had been abused beyond recognition. My mum's cousin lives in Scotland, and in the 70's my toy box was chock full o' Matchboxes(I'd say they were waay more popular than Hot Wheels this side of the pond, in Italy, at least until the early 80's).
Thanks a whole lot!
I'm so grateful you dug out such sweet memories with your review!!! Hmmm... think I'll hit the bay and see if I can get one...

zmaz's picture
Posted by zmaz on 23 March, 2010 - 03:16
Futro-Truck

This was one cool thing growing up in the tail end of the 7T's, I loved all these futuristic diecast toy trucks that were released during the 6T's and through the 7T's and these kind of toys fit right in with the feel of CDX. I flipped out when I saw it on the Matchbox gallery when I was uploading Robotech pictures. Just like Japanese toys from the same era I love the funky design, colored windows, chrome interior and bright colors and diecast weight. So Super Sentai in so many ways.

BTW at this time Lesney was the manufacturer and Matchbox was the brand.

Cheers!

Leonardo Flores
CollectionDX Staff Writer-West Coast Bureau

Showapop's picture
Posted by Showapop on 23 March, 2010 - 12:04
Amazing, I also had this toy

Amazing, I also had this toy long ago, but had totally forgotten about it until I saw this review. Great review, I wonder what could have happened to Doughty's.

Anavel's picture
Posted by Anavel on 23 March, 2010 - 19:52
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net